We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 55 Degrees North

55 Degrees North
1 Causeway St., Portrush BT56 8AB , Northern Ireland
028 7082 2811
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 46 restaurants in Portrush
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

Went on a sunday and there was a fantastic deal on, you payed only for your main course and got a complimentary starter and dessert. The choice was great and all the dishes which our group of 14 had were excellent and arrived promptly. The service was friendly yet efficient. Would recommend a visit...especially on a sunday but be warned its popular so best booking in advance !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    311
    196
    96
    60
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant with a fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in Portrush for 2 nights. We ate in 55 Degrees North on the second night. We got a great table with a fantastic view. We had main course and deserts, would really recommend the duck and sticky toffee pudding. Would definitely return and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great views and even better food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Best deserts ever! Excellent service, impressive views and I would definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice views.... Food not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Went there with my girlfriend for her birthday as it looks like a very upmarket place. Worst decision however, waited over an hour for my food, which when brought out was was terrible, overcooked meat, the sauce was like water and the service was not so friendly at all. Would not recommend it...

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good all day food and drinks at the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

good location at the beach...... Portrush.
everything very reasonable price....... children friendly.....not fine dining but good for drinks and snacks and next to children's play area so great for families.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 55 Degrees North also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to 55 Degrees North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 55 Degrees North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.