We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, cosy B&B.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cullentra House

Save Saved
You added Cullentra House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cullentra House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   16 Cloghs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Saint Emilion
1 review
“Nice setting, cosy B&B.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Everything was perfect. A warm welcome with tea and homemade scones. A very quiet place ideally located to discover the Antrim glens. Breathtaking views through large windows. A clean, comfortable, spacious and cosy double room. A lovely typical Irish breakfast. Very helpful hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    13
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My niece and I recently stayed at this amazing place. Outside, spectacular views of water, fields, and mountains, brought inside by large windows so you can sit by the fire, enjoy tea or coffee on arrival with home baking, and get this, even get a ride into the village for dinner AND A RIDE HOME!

Olive and John do not miss a trick from the details around the room down to the chocolate on the pillows and lovely towels to the steam shower and glorious oversize tub. Breakfast was lovely and would reccommend this space to anyone spending time in Ireland. Wish we could have stayed longer!

All the best to Olive and John. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: ours had a bathroom outside the room. Don't let that turn you away. It was spectacular and large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Olive, you were just so sweet to us! We had such a great time with you, and how sweet of you to take us to the great restaurant! We just had a great visit there, and it made our stay in your area one of our favorites of Ireland! Thanks for being so hospitable to my mom and I! Love it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

To begin with, Olive and James were angels in our distress. Having booked a week at a B&B 3.3 miles away in Glenariff we arrived there to find they didn't want our custom. At the last minute Cullentra agreed to take us as they had capacity and what a good thing they did. From the moment we arrived, rather frazzled at the reception in Glenariff, they were charm personified. Tea and cakes were provided, as they were throughout the holiday. The rooms (we used two) were spotless and comfortable and the views over the glen and out to sea (Ailsa Craig off the Scottish coast visible if it wasn't raining) were superb. The breakfasts were more than adequate with fruit juice, choice of cereal and then cooked breakfast from boiled eggs to full Irish (which does not include baked beans). As a centre for the Antrim Glens it could not be better sited, and Bushmills, the Giants Causeway, Ballycastle and Rathlin Island are conveniently close. Even trips to Belfast and Londonderry are well within one day's outing. Cushendall has a few restaurants for evening meals. Our thanks to the Macauleys for a very enjoyable stay, and to Brandy for keeping us entertained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights on a trip round Northern Ireland. Our hosts, Olive and James, were wonderful hosts and could not have been more obliging. Both charming and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were very good. We were given tips on what to visit in the vicinity and where to eat in the evenings. Olive is a good cook and provided us with tea and cake on our arrival. They had several other guests at the same time who all appeared to be happy with their accommodation. The views from the house are wonderful. A lovely spot from which to explore the Glens of Antrim.

Room Tip: From what other customers were saying, it seems that all the rooms were very nice. Ours certainly w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a wonderful place to start my first visit to Ireland. The welcome was warm and friendly. Olive and James are great hosts and full of information about places to visit, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. As non meat eaters our breakfast was varied and Olive is a very good cook. Thank you to the other guests but most of all Olive for making it a memorable start to our ten days in the lovely Country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I have just spent the weekend in Cullentra House Cushendall. We had a most relaxing break. Olive and James were wonderful hosts and due to them and their friendliness all the quests felt at home. We met guests from USA, Holland, England and The Republic of Ireland. It was almost unbelievable that we all went out together on Saturday night for dinner. Everyone was welcomed with coffee/tea and homemade cake which Olive really knows how to make. Her generosity knew no bounds and we regularly met in the guest sitting room (which was beautifully furnished and had the most amazing view) for more coffee/tea, cake and craic. I would definitely advise others to visit this family run B&B were a warm welcome is assured. The rooms were very comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend to anyone visiting the Glens of Antrim and the North Coast of Ireland.

Room Tip: Just book all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cullentra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cullentra House

Address: 16 Cloghs Road, Cushendall BT44 0SP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cullentra House 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cullentra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cullentra House Cushendall, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cullentra House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.