We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Glens Hotel to your Saves list
The Glens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6 Coast Road, Cushendall BT44 ORU , Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel March 2013 - it was the time of the heavy snow - but the staff were very good at making us feel comfortable. There was karoke in the bar and they made you feel very welcome. We enjoyed our stay - and came back for another one night stay March 2014.
The rooms are small but adequate. The food is amazing and everyone so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    16
    14
    24
See reviews for
32
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

just back from a fantastic valentines and friends anniversary weekend break, firstly a big thank you to the staff, Philomena, Jackie , Nicola and Malachy who made our stay a ball, as it was our friends sparticus ana aphrodites anniversary they were upgraded to the honeymoon suite a very nice gesture on behalf of the hotel, very pleasantly surprised with the hotel as some reviews wernt that complementary but I couldnt find fault with the hotel, rooms a bit on the small side but were very clean and comfortable and decorated to a very good standard and warm and cosy, what do you expect from a small family run hotel in a small seaside village, we stayed 2 nights b&b and a valentines gala dinner with mr&mrs quiz & disco unbelieveable value for money, the breakfasts were to die for and plenty of choice, the valentines 4 course dinner was awesome ive been to some nice and fancy priced restaraunts but ive never had a steak like the one served at the Glens massive thick and juicey cooked to perfection, plus it didnt come with a £5 supplement as you see in many eateries nowdays, our friends also enjoyed thier choices not one complaint , the entertainment afterwards was a good laugh with Sparticus & Aphrodite winning Mr & Mrs and then dancing the night away to the wee small hours thanks to Malachy my mate the Gentoran barman supplying the beverages which wernt that expensive. all in all I would reccomend the Glens Hotel for a couples romantic break or a group of friends away for a weekend bit of craic.
Thanks to Martin and all the staff for making us feel so welcome as nothing was to much trouble we will defo be back. Daddy G

Room Tip: "Ask if the honeymoon suite is available" but our rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Out for a run round the north coast and stopped at the glens hotel for lunch. The menu was very comprehensive. We had prawn salad and a roast beef dinner. The food was good and the portions were very generous. The waitress was friendly and helpful. This was a good choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Armagh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break.It is a small country hotel on the Antrim coast,ideally located for travelling the coast road - to Larne or to the Giants Causeway.The staff were very friendly and obliging, opening doors and carrying bags etc. The food was good honest and cooked good and the portions were huge, The rooms were warm,clean, colour co-ordinated with a large fs tv and the bathroom stocked with toiletries. We really really enjoyed our stay and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Im sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for New Years Eve and could not fault the treatment we got during our stay. After reading previous negative feedback on this site we were very apprehensive, but any doubts were quickly dispelled. We were greeted at reception by a very helpful Leah, and enjoyed friendly banter during with a gentleman in lounge area, who we later learned was the owner Martin. We were shown to our room by very courteous staff who took our luggage upstairs for us. The bar and lounge area is spotless, and ably served by Malachy, Edel, Leah and colleagues. Gala dinner was superb with generous helpings of everything, served in a pristine function room, complimentary champagne to celebrate 2014 was in abundance. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and seem recently decorated. Yes double glazing would greatly improve bedrooms, but overall very pleased especially with food as breakfast was mouthwatering especially those locally sourced sausages.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a Groupon deal, bed, breakfast and bottle of wine. We arrived late on a Friday evening and had to wait ages to be checked in. We were given our warm cheap rose fizzy wine in an ice bucket with 6 ice cubes in the bottom and shown to room 23 which was horrid, where do I start....cold despite a large hot radiator, draughty single glazed rotting window, mismatched bedding with stained cushions, mirror on dressing table to low, had to kneel on the floor to dry my hair, dingy bathroom, with faulty loo roll holder, shower that cut out mid flow, no shower gel only shampoo, kettle we had to boil on the floor as the lead was too short,dirty carpet & net curtains, smoke alarm covered in a plastic bag (very dangerous! ) & to top it off the cheap hairdryer set on fire and blew up!!! We heard all the noisy drunks in the early hours and the breakfast wasn't that great either. We tried to find alternative accommodation for our second night but couldn't afford the prices so we had to endure another miserable night here. The staff were quite pleasant and the area is lovely but stay somewhere else, this hotel needs completely updating, the only consolation is we didn't pay full price & we would have complained if we weren't on a voucher deal.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had Christmas dinner on Christmas Day at the Glen's Hotel this year.

On arrival, the staff gave us a warm reception. They offered us a warming punch with alcoholic and non-alcoholic versions available - just the thing for a cold winter day!

The reception/dining room was bright and cheerful and nicely decorated for the festive season.

A wide range of starters were on offer including vegetable soup, cold meats, salads, fish, melon and garlic mushrooms. You could help yourself to as much as you liked... a winner for those with big appetites!!!

The main course included a wides selection of meats, vegetables and potatoes and trimmings including stuffing and gravy. One member of are party was vegetarian and the chef prepared a vegetarian meal of her choosing especially for her (she had requested the meal a few weeks prior to the day). The portion sizes for the main course were huge and the food itself was exceptionally good.

A range of desserts were available including trifle, Christmas pudding, chocolate cake and apple pie. The dessert were extremely tasty and you could help yourself to whatever you wanted.

All in all, this was by far the best Christmas dinner out we have had. The friendly and courteous staff, the beautiful surroundings, the range of options, the value for money, the readiness to accommodate special diets, the generous portion sizes and of course the scrumptious food, made this a day to remember!

This was the first time any of us had ever visited the Glens Hotel but it certainly won't be the last!!!!

I can heartily recommend this restaurant to anyone... you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glens Hotel

Address: 6 Coast Road, Cushendall BT44 ORU , Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family-run hotel situated in the Heart of the Glens Of Antrim. We are in an area of outstanding natural beauty and best suited for families, couples and the more mature. Walkers will have the time of their life here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Glens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glens Hotel Cushendall, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.