We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village B&B

Save Saved
You added The Village B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Village B&B
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mill Street, Cushendall BT44 0RR, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Cushendall B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here on Saturday night 21st July. The guest house was recommended by my friends who have stayed here many times and who were also staying on 21st July. My initial contact, and continuing contact, with the owner, Alex, was warm, welcoming and accommodating. I was very pleased with the room I was booked into, and the room and ensuite were spotless. I went to Johnny Joes that night and returned before my friends to bed. The bed was very comfortable and the room very relaxing allowing for a very good night's sleep with no disturbance at all during the night. The next morning the breakfast was great with cereals, juices, cooked breakfasts, including the fry which we all took, tea and coffee, served by very pleasant staff. There is a lovely, spacious room where guests can sit and relax, watch tv etc. I intend staying here again, possibly over this weekend if I can get booked in, my 3 friends have already booked in for 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooodddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Fantastic B&B, close to all the amenities and the famous Johnny Joes I have now stayed her twice within the last three weeks

Alex the owner is a fantastic host and runs an excellent clean and tidy B&B.

Breakfast is superb and sets you up for the day

Will defo be back and hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Initially booked in for 2 nights with a party of 3 people
Found the proriters wife to be rather unprofessional with greeting addressed me by my surname
Proceeded to rooms just dropped backs and came back that night found it unusual for no tea/ coffee making facilities in room but they were on landing
No tv in rooms strange in this day and age but yet it was on landing again
Found the owner to be rather uncomfortable with us
Viewed room that night found rooms to be untidy and a duvet cover on a guests bed burnt is never a good look
Smell of fry around house is not inspiring
Left the premises the next morning

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horses129, Manager at The Village B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
This is the second attempt by a member of the same party to post a negative review.
Dealing with the issues raised in this review :
1. It is standard practice industry wide to use the surname as the lead name in bookings and arrival confirmation. This element of his review has no grounds.
2. It specifically states on our website that TV and tea/coffee facilities are available in common areas. It does not state that these facilities are available in guest rooms.
3. Cooking commences at 8.00am and is over by 10.00am. The reviewer gives the impression that there is the constant smell of cooking at other times. This is definitely not the case.
4. No guest is ever shown to an untidy room. As you can see from all our other reviews cleanliness and tidiness is of paramount importance to us.
5. There was a slight ironing mark on his friend’s duvet in another room but none on his. He implies that there was.
His approach to these issues displays an agenda to discredit The Village B & B and as none of the issues he raises have any foundation , I consider the poor rating he has given be totally undeserved. This is so completely at odds with all our other reviews as to be ridiculous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Sorry Alex, meant to do this ages ago.

My friend and I stayed at The village for 2 nights back in June. We are seasoned walkers and have stayed at many B+Bs over the years and can only say an enormous thankyou to Alex whose duties to us as host could not be surpassed.

We had an arrangement to meet him half way along the Moyle Way at a certain time from whence he would drive us back to the B+B. The weather had been horrendous so we had walked very quickly We were drenched but arrived at our meeting point a hour and a half early expecting a long wait in the rain. Alex had noted the poor conditions and decided to look for us early and arrived just as we walked out of the trees.

And then once back at Cushendall, we were treated to irish coffee and carrot cake to warm us up!

We would thoroughly recommend The Village. It was everything a friendly and comfortable B + B should be - but our host's recognition of our needs was wonderful. That will take some beating. Thankyou Alex

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have recently returned from a three night stay at the Village B&B and had the most lovely experience! The room was spotless, warm and comfortable with plenty of fresh towels. The owners - Alex and Margaret are fantastic hosts - very warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts are of a very high standard. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to everyone and will definitely return to the Village B&B.
Cliff and Laura McKay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Totally at odds with 'Horrifying experience'!!!!

Myself and friends stay here regularly when we play music in Johnny Joe's bar directly across the street. That review appears to be from someone who has a grudge as it couldn't be further from the truth.

The owner, Alec is a gentleman and he and his staff are very friendly and meticulous about their cleanliness and hospitality. I have recommended so many people to Alec's including my own relatives visiting from Oz. It's a great spot!!

As for 'only tea and toast'. Nonsense! A full Irish breakfast is offered (and needed after the night before in Joe's!!). There is NO way that a guest would only be given tea and toast!!!

My mates and I have booked for the weekend of the Cushendall Festival. If you can make it to the Village from the 4th to the 12th of August you are guarenteed great craic and a fantastic welcome from Alec and all!!!!!

Ignore that negativity, read the other reviews and get over to Alec's as soon as you can!! See you in Johnny Joe's and for a big fry in the Village next morning!!!

Room Tip: All good!! Been in most of them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village B&B

Address: Mill Street, Cushendall BT44 0RR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Cushendall
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cushendall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Village B&B 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Village B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Bed And Breakfast
The Village Hotel Cushendall
The Village B&B Cushendall, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.