We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bureau Bar

Bureau Bar
637 Shore Road | Whiteabbey, Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9086 6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 66 Restaurants in Newtownabbey
Price range: $4 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened in 2002, Bureau Café Bar is an award-winning stylish and relaxed space perfect for informal dining, drinks and entertainment. A great variety of gastro-pub dishes, drinks, coffee and homemade pastries are served all day, every day. All dishes are freshly prepared to order using the best of local and seasonal ingredients. A large sun terrace allows for al fresco drinks and dining (in clement weather) and has unrivalled views over beautiful Belfast Lough. In 2012, it won the coveted ‘Best Food Pub in Northern Ireland’ and was runner-up ‘Best Overall Pub’ in the prestigious Pubs of Ulster Awards. It also won ‘Best Food Venue’ in the 2012 Newtownabbey Borough Business Awards.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great Menu & Service. This is the only restaurant that I look forward to perfect Scampi and an excellent choice of seafood.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    45
    30
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Wine Tasting Event
Attended a superb wine tasting last night in Bureau Bar & Restaurant . The evening was hosted with great style and the fabulous canapés complimented the beautiful wines from McLaren Vale, Australia. Scott who owns the winery was a highly entertaining expert and everyone enjoyed his tales of life in an Australian winery. Top marks to the management and chef who provided an excellent backdrop for the delicious wines. Another Great night in Bureau - congratulations!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere, great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Beautiful restaurant. Had a lovely dinner and despite a small hiccup with the meal it was quickly rectified by the staff and we went on to enjoy the great food! excellent customer service! definitely would recommend it :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

we had been given a gift card for our anniversary so decided to use it at lunch time.we pre booked a table on the friday morning for 2 o'clock but when we arrived there was no sign of the booking.fortunatly they had a table so we were accommadated.service was good and personel were pleasant.the meal was lovely and my husband who never finishes anything anywere we eat never left a thing,not even fat off his steak.price wise not much more expensive than anywere else local.really enjoyed it

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We decided to call in at the Bureau for a treat for our wedding anniversary and we were delighted with our meal, once I could decide what to have. Very attentive staff, made sure we had all that we needed. We'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bureau Bar also viewed

Newtownabbey, County Antrim
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
 
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
Newtownabbey, County Antrim
 

Been to Bureau Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bureau Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.