We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and service - as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambou Chinese Restaurant

Bambou Chinese Restaurant
91 Templepatrick Road | Unit 7/8 Twelfth Milestone, Templepatrick, Northern Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A very nice Chinese restaurant with an extensive menu.It is situated upstairs at a busy shopping and garage area on the main road through Templepatrick.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb food and service - as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This chinese is one of the best. A great range of dishes, staff friendly and courteous, and nothing is a problem for them. The food is fresh and tasty, and an excellent range of dishes. Can easily accommodate 9 at a table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ballyclare restaurant very very disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We haven't been here for a few years as we,would go more often to Templepatrick or the original Hong Kong now called the china court in Antrim. I have to say the latter is very hard to beat. In Balyclare we ordered 2 starters one of which was cold. The sea bass main was just ok and the aromatic duck was awful. Also cold and it was taken away and blasted under the microwave noting like the aromatic duck I've had before so finely shredded it was tasteless. It might be another few years before we are back. Defo check out the China Court in Antrim excellent cuisine!! (Nb the China Court is owned by the same people)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very nice dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had a lovely well cooked meal here this evening. The restaurant was warm and stylish and the staff were very pleasant. We were too full after our two courses but was brought a complimentary platter with fresh pieces of fruit which was very refreshing after our meal. We had a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

As this is very much my "local", I'm here more times than is probably healthy, but every time I come I have a great meal in pleasant surroundings. The menu is more extensive than most Chinese restaurants and the service is always good. Little touches such as prawn crackers automatically brought to the table, fresh fruit platter at the end of the meal, hot towels etc help to make this place stand out from the crowd. Prices are slightly above average but it's well worth the extra. A very welcome addition to the local culinary scene, I'm so glad that I live within walking distance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"Great Food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Called in to the Bambou Chinese at the end of November 2013 while staying in the area.

Great food, great customer service, great selection on the menu.

Staff couldnt do enough, very friendly and the fresh fruit plate at the end of the meal was very nice.

Would not hesitate to return if in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambou Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Templepatrick, County Antrim
Templepatrick, County Antrim
 

Been to Bambou Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambou Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.