We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing. AVOID” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Upton Estate, Templepatrick BT39 0DD, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off 3 night stays
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Templepatrick
n.ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing. AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Avoid!!!!

it is probably an acceptable hotel for a business trip, however we went for a romantic break.
we booked because it advertised a spa! it was more like a creche with a swimming pool. I phoned in advance and asked a staff member in the spa to send me an email on the spa services and prices. I'm still waiting on the email.

when we arrived and checked in the receptionist was so uninterested and unwelcoming, it appeared she was pretty miserable in her job. i asked about the resturants and if there were menus in the room. she said she would sent them up. she sent up a very poor bar menu. so when i went downstairs i asked about the restuarant only to be told it was CLOSED!!!

We had planned on checking in, using the spa, enjoying a nice meal and a bottle or two of nice wine. no chance!

so off we went to the spa. Terrible! it was full of children, running around and shouting they were in the so called hot tub/ bubble bath they call it. they were even in the sauna. we stayed for just under an hour. so much for a relaxing break.
whats the point in going away for a romantic break and leaving your kids at home only to be surrounded by other peoples kids. as a four star hotel i was expecting something like Galgorm spa, which is fantastic.

the only positive thing about the trip was the room was clean. The bed on the other hand was a total disaster. The hardest most uncomfortable bed ever.

We had to go out for a meal. so much for a relaxing break. i wish we had stayed at home. i did leave a comments card, but I have not received any response to date.

if you are traveling as a couple, avoid at all costs.
if you are travelling for business you will probably survive provided you don't want an evening meal in the resturant.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    229
    151
    78
    42
See reviews for
175
265
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my husband and first break away from the kids , phoned the day before as it was the first time i had ever booked online before and wasnt to sure i had done it correctly. The lady i spoke to on the phone was lovely even though i felt a bit silly she really put me at ease and made me feel a lot better. The room we stayed in was lovely really clean and the bathroom was spotless, the grounds and the setting is really lovely and is so close to Belfast, Antrim and Ballymena. 30 mins after we arrived there was a card and a plate of mini cheesecakes sent to our room with happy birthday wrote in chocolate for my husband which was a lovely surprise ( think this was from the lady i spoke to on the phone just wish i had of got her name to thank her) Would love to bring the kids next time and book one of their family rooms, had a fab weekend so relaxing thank you to the lovely staff at the Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Found the service and accommodation below expectations. We were unable to eat in the restaurant as it wasn't part of our deal and told to eat in the bar. We were given twin beds which were uncomfortable and squeaky

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Templepatrick hotels

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Reception efficient and helpful
Good value, easy to book on web
Clean, comfortable well equipped room. Even better if get room overlooking golf course
Good restaurant and bar food
Great location
Only downside is expensive wifi

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Myself and my family stayed here for a weekend in April as we wished to visit the Giant's Causeway. The hotel is in a lovely quiet setting and is very well maintained. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The only criticism I have is the lack of free wifi or internet access. Free wifi is something I would expect from most modern hotels now and I was disappointed at the cost of internet usage in the hotel. However, we were only staying for 2 nights so it did not have a big impact on the stay and overall I would definitely give this a great rating and recommend it for a nice, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hilton Templepatrick is everything you would expect from a Hilton hotel. Set in beautiful surroundings and with its own gof course you cannot help but relax here. The swimming pool, though a little cold, is excellent and a great spot for the young and old. We were not able to take any spa treatments but I have to say it looked fabulous. The food is great and they were able to cater for my wife who is coeliac without any problems at all.

The hotel is close to the airport and only 20 minutes out from the centre of Belfast. Really good spot to base your self for a trip to Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, Manager at Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am delighetd that you enjoyed your recent visit to Hilton Templepatrick and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards

Paula Collins
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel at the start of May 2013 check in was smooth and Barry could not have been more helpful. The room was big and facing the golf corse. An ice machine outside the door nice touch. No bath plug! that was sent up 40 mins later. The water was Luke warm the 2 days. Had some hamburgers and cold chips in the bar area £32.90!!! 2 drinks £10. Did not feel to well after that. The next day we where told no need to book for the prepaid meal, but where told when we turned up for dinner it was fully booked!! sorry there was nothing they could do, we got in an hour later after a lot of fuss and phone calls, spoiled it tho was very embarrassing. The hotel was packed with kids and even a dog was in the bar, was not the quite romantic place we hoped. Breakfast was the pre cooked cold help yourself deal, the only thing that was hot was the plate! watch out for that burned my fingers. It's a nice hotel and the staff are fantastic. The swimming pool gets rather full in the afternoons. There is no residents bar you ask the porter who goes to reception who phones the bar and they bring you a drink!! The bar area has a buttlands feel about it and we had to escape to the local bar Elley mays, 6 miles away. Don't think we will ever go back. But if you like expensive cold food,golf,kids running about,bring your dog and enjoy.

Room Tip: I recommend The rooms on the first floor odd numbers face the golfcorse book your prepaid meal as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club

Address: Castle Upton Estate, Templepatrick BT39 0DD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Templepatrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Templepatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Templepatrick Hotel And Country Club
Hilton Templepatrick Hotel Country
Templepatrick Hilton
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.