We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem, great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finn McCool's Giants Causeway hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Finn McCool's Giants Causeway hostel to your Saves list
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway hostel
32 Causeway Road, Bushmills BT578SU, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A little gem, great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My friend and me stayed there for few days at begininning of April, wasn't really easy to find but once we got there it was ok. Great location just minutes away from Giant's causeway or Bushimills, very important to notice if you don't rent a car cos of the poor quality of the public transport. Wonderful view from the living room and from our room: we booked a 6 bed mixed dorm but there were only four guests in the hostel so we had the whole room for ourselves. Overall the hostel was really clean and organized. The room was warm and we didn't have problem having an hot shower. We met the owner of the hostel who was really helpful offering us advice on things to do and places to see. The breakfast is included in the price, was statisfactory. He even offered us to made a bbq for the dinner but we decided to go to Bushmills, bear in mind that is a very small town so there's nothing open after 10pm. Very nice place, awesome location, highly reccommended for a quiet full immersion in the nature!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
10
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location of this hostel is it's main selling point. It is just a few steps away from the Giant's Causeway and you only have to step outside or onto the terrace to get some lovely views. Other upsides included the friendliness of the manager who was always helpful and ready to give out information and advice. The room was decent, simple but comfortable. The parking was sufficient although it involved some clever manoeuvring when there were more than two cars there. Other upsides included the fact that the breakfast was included and that the hostel was pretty quiet the whole time we were there. It seems to mostly be popular with hikers and people looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday.
There were a few negatives. The food wasn't great. Hey, I'm not complaining because it was free and it was hot but the breakfast was a bit disappointing. I'm a proper fry girl myself, none of that grilled stuff for me! Also, if you're staying for a few days, it's worth noting that the dinner you can buy is the same every night so I wouldn't recommend banking on eating there for the duration of the stay. The main problem for me though was the issue with power. The hostel is trying to go green but that meant that there was an electricity curfew and that hot water wasn't available at certain times. Maybe they've sorted that out though.
I enjoyed our stay and can recommend the hostel but be prepared for fairly basic accom and food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hostel wasn't the easiest to find, but provided a good amount of parking space when we arrived.
It was quiet as there were only 4 guests there the night that we stayed and the manager was very welcoming and gave us the tour of the hostel, showing us our room and the bathrooms and explaining about the work that was going on in the hostel at the time, which he was doing in order to improve his security ratings, he was very friendly and made us feel at home.
Internet was provided in one of the rooms, the connection wasn't great in the other rooms but it was sufficient and the manager, Steve had left one of his laptops out for general use for those of us who weren't carrying a laptop or tablet with us.
Meals were provided, fried breakfast was included in the price of the hostel and for a couple of Euros extra, double cheeseburger, chips, salad and vegetables was provided on the night we arrived and we were able to sit in the conservatory, admire the beautiful view of the sea and plan our next days adventure.
We had paid to stay in a six bed dorm room for the night that we stayed in the hostel, at about 8pm, Steve came to ask us if we would like our own room as no other guests had arrived, he transferred us to a two bed room for no extra money and we spent a very comfortable night, the first night we actually managed to sleep properly in over a week touring around Ireland.
The following morning after breakfast we checked out to go to Giant's Causeway and the beach nearby, Steve advised us not to go through the visitor's centre as there is a path to the left of the building which you are able to go down for free, it actually says this in very small letters on the sign, but a lot of people end up paying as they don't realise that the Causeway itself is free entry and the cost is for car parking. Steve also allowed us to leave the car at the hostel until we had done what we wanted that day and were ready to move on.
I enjoyed my stay here and really felt that Steve went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible, this was definitely one of the best hostels we stayed in on our tour of Ireland and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

A lovely b & b located within a stones throw of the giants causeway. Big, beautiful house with very comfortable rooms. We enjoyed a home cooked, full English breakfast in the front room overlooking the coast. Steve, the host, was very hospitable and very relaxed. A home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautiful, homey, cosy hostel, just few minutes walk away from Giant's Causeway. Amazing views from most of the rooms, especially from the dining area. The man who takes care of the place is very nice and helpful. The place has a feeling of freedom, relaxation, I forgot about everything up there, just enjoyed the beautiful landspace and warm feelings. I even got up at 6 am to take a walk down to the the beach! Totally recommend it also for a family getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

No frills and perfect - down to earth, enviro-friendly, great hearty hot breakfasts, striking horizons from the breakfastroom. It's really an ideal environment to meet and chat with fellow intrepid travellers from all over the world.

Don't be frightened off by the logo - Fin McCools is chilled out and totally in-touch with the landscape, not a party hostel full of drunken teenagers. A great location for walking, hiking and scenic drives an easy stroll to the giants casueway andnot far from (maybe 10-15 minute scenic drive to) carrick-a-reed bridge.

Fussy people who would complain about instant coffee, low water pressure and a broken door handle or two should not stay here. Leave the spectacular views to those of us who appreciate the personality of the place.

Room Tip: Say yes to the nightly BBQs it's the best cheap feed you'll get in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a perfect and peaceful stay here. The location is ideal, accessible by public transport, and an enjoyable locus for hiking along Ireland's breathtaking cliffs, beaches, and checking out Bushmill's. Our host went out of his way, making great porrige on his first try, to accommodate our vegetarianism. He was helpful but not nosy or overbearing as some can be. We definitely recommend Finn's hostel as a great getaway and far cleaner and more organized than most we've come across.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finn McCool's Giants Causeway hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finn McCool's Giants Causeway hostel

Address: 32 Causeway Road, Bushmills BT578SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bushmills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hostel with character, perfectly located for hiking and enjoying Giant's Causeway and the surrounding natural beauty. The hostel is located about 400m from the Causeway itself, with stunning coastal views. Like our sister hostel, Lagan Backpackers in Belfast, we serve a great FREE hot breakfast (Full English breakfast: bacon and scrambled eggs, sausage, beans also with other options such as porridge etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Finn McCool's Giants Causeway hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finn McCool's Giants Causeway hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.