We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow! well worth a visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway
44 Causeway Road | Bushmills, Bushmills BT57 8SU, Northern Ireland
44 28 2073 1855
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Giant's Causeway like an insider
Private Tour
$134*
and up
Private Tour: Game of Thrones and Giant’s...
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Bushmills
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Northern Ireland's most popular tourist destination: this large stretch of staircase-shaped rocks is the result of cooled lava from volcanic eruptions that took place over 65 million years ago.
Kildare
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“wow! well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

we visitied here on sat 2nd feb 2013. we had wanted to see it for ages.
as soon as we pulled into the carpark we were greeed with lovley friendly staff who advised us where to park and pay etc. We got the distinct impression from the staff that it wasnt just a job for them they were proud of where worked and its place in history.
It proves how amazing nature is the hexagon shape pillars of basalt formed from a volcanic eruption were just breath taking. We took the tour which was more aimed more at children so it mentioned lots of the mythological stories about finn the giant as well as mentioning the geological aspect (but the myths were the definite prefrence of the guides!) if i was going agin i would just follow the audio guide rather than the tour as then you could go at your own pace. we also took the red trail around the cliffs which though difficult was rewarding with amazing views and scenery. I recommend that people wrap up warmly whatever the season as it is a very srong wind that blows!!!! overall a thouroughly enjoyable experience!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,070
    703
    199
    59
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we visited the Giant's Causeway on 8 December 2012, it was incredible and impressive, the rock along the coast was just like cube poler by manual! it was amazing! and the waves were high!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A lovely wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. My husband and I took a shore excursion here as part of our cruise and the scenic drive was nothing more than breathtaking. When we arrived, the guide said the walk would be far but my husband who doesn't walk as fast as me actually had no problem walking around. The causeway steps are fun to walk around as long as you are careful on the darker ones that are naturally slippy. Bathrooms were available but relatively dirty and the line was long so make sure to go before you head down the trail.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Impressive geological formation. Have been there a number of times. A very senic walk down to the formation from the visitors centre.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Something you have to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is quite simply a geological wonder that you must see; you'll never forget it. The best way to see the Causeway is to park at the end of Beach Rd in Portballinrae and walk over the River Bush bridge along the beach and around the Runkerry headland, past the new Visitors Centre (very modern ecologically designed architecture, you either love it or loathe it), and down to the Giants Causeway rocks. Takes about an hour, or shorter if you cut in to the dunes as you reach the end of the beach and follow the railway track. Or a more leisurely approach in the tourist season is to park in Bushmills, have a coffee on the Diamond (some excellent tea rooms) or lunch in the Bushmills Inn, and catch the small gauge train to the causeway (it actually goes through the 9 hole Bushfoot golf course - a hidden gem in itself!)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant's Causeway also viewed

 
Ballymoney, County Antrim
 

Been to Giant's Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant's Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.