We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Beautiful Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Carrickfergus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Carrickfergus to your Saves list
Premier Inn Carrickfergus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Harbour | Alexandra Pier, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Beautiful Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful - when we were checking out but still had a couple of hours to wait until we were to be picked up, the staff offered to hold our bags so we wouldn't have to carry them around.
The setting of the hotel is close to the marina, with great views of the castle and boats as well as being near the centre of town. There is a Sainsburys less than five minutes walk away, as well as a Brewer's Fayre, a wine and sports bar and a traditional fish and chips takeaway place.
The rooms were very tidy and clean, as well as spacious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    94
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
125
111
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Really good Premier hotel. Good situation, overlooks a small harbour and convenient for a supermarket. Room good, able to open the windows and easy seating for 2 to watch the TV.

Dined at the adjoining Brewer's Fare - it was buffet night and we had the best / best value meal during our 3 week tour of Ireland great selection and the 'fiery Chilli' certainly was hot - Brill! all at a very reasonable price.

MJG123

Room Tip: First/second floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gairloch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My daughter and I had a most comfortable stay. We were surprised at the spacious room, deep pile carpet and comfortable bathroom for the very reasonable price. In addition all the staff were very helpful and most tolerant of our endless questions!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed 17 - 19 May and would not hesitate to return. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel was very quiet and in a wonderful location and close to the castle. Views are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our third stay at the Premier Inn in Carrickfergus - in some ways that speaks for itself! The usual Premier Inn standards apply and the rooms/hotel were kept clean and well maintained. The staff at the hotel are exceptional - very friendly, efficient and helpful. The location is spot on and there is a Sainsbury's supermarket opposite and other restaurants / pubs in easy walking distance. The hotel is right near the castle. The only (small) issue we encountered was 'screaming' pipes when using the shower. There do seem to be some water pressure issues and we also encountered this when we stayed in January 2013. Having said that, the shower was still pretty decent despite the noise. There is a Brewers Fayre restaurant associated to the hotel - the standard of food here isn't great but its a pleasant enough place for a drink and a snack.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our first trip to N.IRELAND, to visit with long time friends. We stayed at the Premier Inn and had an excellent stay. The resturant, inn staff, were more than willing to accomondate your every need. We were there approximately 5 nights..We are planning to return next year, and stay there again. I highly recommend this property..Thanks again for a good time..walking distance to stores and Castle. J&E Johnson/ Hampton, Va.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for a few nights, lovely place. Scenery and location very nice, small quaint place. Staff are nice. lovely Woman on reception at night, collete was friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was to much trouble for her despite the fact that she was working all through the night, can't thank her enough. We had a good time and would recomend this place to our family and friends and will definitely come back !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Carrickfergus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carrickfergus

Address: The Harbour | Alexandra Pier, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carrickfergus 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Carrickfergus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel Carrickfergus
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Carrickfergus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.