We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Carrickfergus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Carrickfergus to your Saves list
Premier Inn Carrickfergus
The Harbour | Alexandra Pier, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

First impressions were great: friendly welcome, spacious room and spotlessly clean.

Less good was £3 for wifi after the first 30 minutes in what must be mainly a business hotel. Then there was the bed; all basically OK except there is some kind of plastic or rubber undersheet that felt very unpleasant to us.

The structure seemed to be very thin especially when someone in the room above began "exercising" around 1 am.

The shower was good but the toilet needed two or three flushes to be effective.

I'm off to try the Clarion tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    89
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
115
101
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from the Premier Inn Carrickfergus, this hotel is very clean, has nice friendly helpful staff and is in a great location close to the town centre.

We found the hotel easy to find, it had lots of parking space even for our coach. We were a group travelling to the area to play bowls and having stayed at this hotel previously, we knew exactly what we were getting.

From the moment you enter the reception to the minute you leave tyou are greeted by friendly smiles from all the staff, who happen to be very knowledgeable on the loca area.

The rooms were bright, clean and the bed was very comfortable, just what the gaurantee said it would be.

The bathroom had a shower and bath, both of which worked perfectly fine, towels were changed daily.

The food food in the adjacent Brewer's Fayre was was excellent, fairly priced and again their staff were pleasant and helpful.

The bar area was nice to sit in, but as we were quite fortuneate with the weather, we sat outdoor in the beer garden arae, this was nice and the view of the close by marina and castle added to the feeling of satisfaction.

We will definately revisit this area and will use the services of the Carrickfergus Premier Inn also, the prices for the overall stay were excellent great value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms look onto a nearby marina, which is better that the opposite side which looks onto a supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked for 2 night weekend stay for scooter rally, ended up staying in bar at hotel first night , reception staff full of fun also bar and floor staff in restaurant very friendly, nice location beside the harbour, 2 supermarkets in walking distance, will be back next year , for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Warm welcome as you would expect from a Premier Inn, this one is situated beside the marina and Carrickfergus Castle - lovely. Right beside are diners, cinema, shops and historical interests. Restaurant beside Premier Inn lovely, food brill and accessible inside so no getting wet running for breakfast!
Bed lovely, slept like a log, room had own temp. control, everything clean and for an asthma sufferer like me, no dust, perfumes, smoke smells etc anywhere so I could sleep well..
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, panoramic views for any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the above premier Inn have stayed several times previously and will stay again always clean and bright with free car parking and very good restaurant. Al;l you can eat buffet most nights with different themes ie. Indian, chinese, Italian, fish & chips etc. very good value

Room Tip: book in advance for special room rate deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the Premier Inn last November en route to a family funeral and it served our purposes right to a tee. We arrived in Ulster on a late boat to Larne, but check in was no problem. Time for a late drink, then a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast. Lovely outlook to an armada of boats and the famous Carrickfergus Castle. It would be a great centre for touring as it is not far from Belfast, but nicely away from the big city if you want peace. We will very probably use it again soon in happier circumstances.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villan in gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Title says it all,

I Was over through work and struggling to find accomodation in my normal hotels so i took a chance on this premier inn as it had the 4 nights i needed

Pleased to say it fitted the bill perfectly and certainly wont be my last stay, The location was fantastic with the pub garden @ 10 yards from the harbours edge and the castle as a backdrop

Staff in the premier inn and adjoining pub/restaurant were cheerfull and friendly and a credit to premier inn

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the harbour/castle if there are any the next time i stay as mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Carrickfergus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carrickfergus

Address: The Harbour | Alexandra Pier, Carrickfergus BT38 8BE, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Carrickfergus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel Carrickfergus
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Carrickfergus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.