We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8PH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
County Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Fun !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself and my husband and a couple of friends went to stay at the Clarion for a pre Christmas get together as we would all be very busy over the Christmas. I had stayed at the Clarion a few years ago but had forgotten about it. Well let me tell you I will not ever forget it again. It was just brilliant and what a great weekend we ended up having. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and yet quite reasonably priced. Then we went out into the lounge which was full of some very colourful characters including Hiawatha. The music was done by a chap called John and let me tell you he was only brilliant. He was like a one man powerhouse. There was nothing he could not sing.
The next day even though it was November the sun was beaming down so we wrapped up well and went for a walk down along the seafront and near the Castle. Very pleasant. To top it all we got a wee bit of shopping in on the way home. I would deffo reccomend this hotel and break to anyone. I certainly will be back.

Room Tip: We were up on the executive suites on the fourth floor and they were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    106
    68
    30
    23
See reviews for
110
122
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Was in 13/12/2014 stayed over for xmas dinner, last two years there were round tables and plenty of space for people to move and enjoy, this year was long rows of narrow tables and there were far too many people for that one room, everyone's main dinner was handed out in drafts instead of one sitting, no security in function room while customers were told by the band to get off the stage, big health and safety issue there, everyone didn't finish the cheese cake dessert was like rubber, very dissapointed was like Iceland food, won't be suprised there will be more negative reviews after the weekend

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night to attend a concert in Belfast - modern, clean, nicely appointed room and quiet - for a very good price. Ample free and secure parking. The only disappointment was the bar area - which when we arrived was cold and not a very inviting place to linger. Having said that I think this part of the Hotel is being upgraded at present. In general a decent place for a 1 night stopover that doesn't break the bank.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights, room pleasant enough, comfy beds, clean, tea and coffee facilities, it was situated at the front of the hotel, smoking area was just outside our window so noisy at times, there was a wedding on, people coming and going talking on phones etc, hate to think what it's like in the summer months, when booking make sure your room is away from this, early start in the morning as there is work getting done outside, men drilling :( but this I'm sure is temporary), breakfast is buffet style plenty to choose from, staff pleasant and efficient, not the warmest tho.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenC-GM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Carolmayst,

Thanks you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I have noted and appreciate all your comments. The building work is indeed temporary and all of our refurbishments will be complete for Christmas.

Kind Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were married in the Clarion on Monday 24th November 2014 and all I can say is AWESOME. From the wedding coordinator Anne Hines to the wedding manager Dave who my nephew referred to as the magician, the reception staff, bar staff , restaurant staff and cleaners they just couldn't do enough for us. For anyone thinking of getting married I would highly recommend doing it here. Anne takes the worry from the couple and deals with everything herself. On the day itself Dave the wedding manager deals with everything for you, he has a wonderful personality and is fantastic with the kids, he's like the pied piper and they all seem to love him. May I also mention Bernie & Frances from Over the Moon wedding & events who do a fantastic job of dressing the room for your reception as well as dressing the room were the wedding service takes places. Our room looked amazing and was admired by all our guests. We had Alan the dj for our disco who comes highly recommended by the hotel. He did a great job for us , last but not least the most important person of all was our minister Harry who again comes highly recommended by the hotel. Our service was beautiful and not only did Harry make us feel important but also our guests , he was really lovely. If you want a stress free wedding then head to the Clarion, you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenC-GM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Belfastgirl72,

Thank you for your AWESOME Review of your Wedding Reception at the Clarion Hotel. It is always an honour to be chosen to host such a special occasion and I am delighted that the team at the hotel delivered such great customer service.

KInd Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I will get the grumble out the way. The hotel website states free internet is included. What they fail to mention is you only get 40 minutes, after which you have to pay. Its like offering a free breakfast and only offering you a slice of toast and then being asked to pay for the egg and bacon.

Rant over.

Lovely hotel, nice and clean, feels like a lot of care has gone into maintaining it.

Friendly check in.

Large clean room, nice size bathroom

Very comfy bed, good tv with lots of channels.

Breakfast was good, not brilliant but perfectly acceptable.

Apart from the misleading internet this was a great hotel. Will I go back. Give me free internet for the entire stay then yes, otherwise its only a maybe.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenC-GM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Matt J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had such positive comments across our range of facilities. We do hope to be able to offer completely free WiFi to hotel residents sometime in 2015. In the meantime all guests do get 40 minutes free access per day which allows them to check emails etc.

Kind Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel as a family of 3, on a bed and breakfast basis. The room was really big with plenty of space. It had a double bed and 2 single beds it was clean light and airy. The day after arrival we were woken to breakfast in bed which was lovely. We experienced no problems here and would definitely stay again. There are 2 restaurants next to the hotel so if you fancy Indian or Chinese your in with luck. The town centre is about a 20 minute drive from he hotel and costs around £15

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenC-GM, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear MissD1984,

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your family break. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor, I hope to welcome you back to the Clarion Hotel, Carrickfergus in the near future.

KInd Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus

Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8PH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.