We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel - but room 309 has no view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8PH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
sligo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Very Good Hotel - but room 309 has no view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel last Thursday night and were given room 309 - the room was spotless and had a nice decor, but the window looked straight onto a wall (part of hotel building), about 3 foot from the window. We did feel this impacted on the natural light in the room also.

As we had checked in late and were leaving early the next day, we did not ask if there was any other room available that night.

When checking out, I asked if the hotel was fully booked for the previous night and was advised that it was not. I then asked why we would have been checked in to room 309, if other rooms were available, but the receptionist did not give me any reason.

I completed the hotel comment card and I asked if our being checked in to room 309 had anything to do with the fact that our booking was done on a deal page voucher - to date I have had no contact from the hotel.

We had a drink in the bar, which was very quiet that night and enjoyed a good breakfast the next morning.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, both on check in and check out.

Room Tip: Avoid room 309 and probably corresponding room numbers on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    113
    74
    33
    30
See reviews for
120
133
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is very nicely furnished with lots of amenities. The bedroom was beautifully appointed, though we were missing cups and spoons from the tea/coffee tray. However, this was quickly put right. We found the staff efficient rather than friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

was here for a wedding, didnt stay overnight, food at weddings can be hit or miss but this was very much a hit, the soup was lovely, the main course the chicken with bacon was very tasty didnt taste over heated or dried out, plenty of mash and veg and it all tasted fresh rather than heated over. the room we were in had its own smoking area outside away from hotel meaning you didnt have to trapse about. lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went today for the Sunday Carvery and it was gorgeous, there was an amazing selection of food from soups to salad and pasta, and then the main course of chicken, ham, pork and beef...a brilliant choice of vegetables and the dessert table was over flowing with choice....the waiting staff where well presented and where attentive. ...definitely go again. ..

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Recently stayed on a one night (Friday) deal with Friends. The rooms were spacious and had everything you need. The meals in the restaurant, and at breakfast were lovely. The bar staff were extremely friendly and made a few jokes with us. We felt very welcome, even though the place was busy with a wedding. There was a two piece group on - sadly playing to very few people but we really enjoyed them. For the stay to be only one night - it seemed longer and we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here last night and was really impressed with staff. Very helpful and friendly and eager to help in any way. Had a delicious meal in the red pepper restaurant. Excellent food and reasonable prices. Would highly recommend. Room was beautiful with patio doors. Will return at a later date. Thanks

Room Tip: Room 307 is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and could not have been happier. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful, especially in finding a list camera! Meals were very good and it was a great base for touring the Belfast area. We would return.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus

Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8PH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.