We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8PH, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
northern ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we didnt stay here just called in for a drink. place looked beautiful and very clean. receptionist very friendly and bar staff very courtious and friendly. maybe sometime we can actually get to stay.had excellent parking facilities and just short walk from everything on your doorstep!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Hollyhole1,

Thank you for sharing your brief experience with us. It is nice to have made an impression in such a short space of time. I do hope we get to welcome you back to The Clarion Hotel, Carrickfergus in the very near future.

Warmest Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    113
    74
    33
    30
See reviews for
120
133
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived after midnight after a long day touring the Northern Coast. Young kids and a friend in tow, we were all exhausted. A very friendly, chatty, night porter checked us in promptly and we went to our room. It was a large room with a double bed and 2 twin beds. Bathroom was being overhauled due to burst pipes so the bath/shower wall was covered in pastic sheeting but was accessible albeit a bit of a work in progress. Without asking, the hotel had deducted 1/3 off the cost of the room rate when I went to check out and apologised - nice touch.
The room could have been cleaner, carpets were a bit stained and dull, the tables had coffee cup marks that hadn been polished but it was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear TravellingQ8,

I am pleased that you found our Night Porter to be friendly and efficient. The room that you stayed in has since been fully refurbished with Flat Screen TV etc. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future so that you can experience the difference for yourself.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Clarion Hotel, Carrickfergus.

Warmest Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently had our wedding here on the 24.08.12. The staff at the Clarion made our day very special it was a small wedding in the annex room and I would highly recommend it to anyone who would like a small wedding. The service was also in the room. I would like to thank all the staff especially Ann and David.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Leanne B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your wedding day with us at The Clarion Hotel, Carrickfergus. I have passed your kind words to David and Ann. The Annex Suite is a beautiful room beside the garden and is indeed ideal for a small wedding or family gathering.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Clarion in the near future.

Kind Regards and best wishes for your future life together.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris area
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed one night on our way back from Ireland to be close to BFS International Airport. The Clarion is well appointed, rooms are comfortable, queen size comfortable bed. Lots of free parking.

Breakfast was an excellent buffet, polite staff at reception and in the resturant.

We paid £67 for one night including 2 breakfasts, which in our opinion is a fair rate.

Some of the door hinges need to be oiled as we were woken up by the neighbour's bathroom door creaking at 5am. Also minor repairs needed: window bolt broken, one bathroom lightbulb not working. Windows covered with condensation overnight. This all needs to be checked by staff, reported, and mended. Crumbs on the floor on arrival but generally otherwise clean.

Bathroom is of a good size, and well equipped. Apart from another LOUD sqeaky door.

There is a bar, which could do with being brightened up a bit, it's a bit gloomy.

The Clarion is located about 1-2 km outside the town centre on the busy A2 dual carriageway towards Belfast.

Happy to recommend it with the above info.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Christ0pher_94,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of The Clarion Hotel, Carrickfergus. As you will note from my responses to other reviews we are currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme which will see all our bedrooms completed in early 2012.

I am pleased that your overall impression of the hotel and the staff was a positive one.

Warmest Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Don't book your wedding here. We got married on 12th June 2012. At 6pm on eve of wedding we got a phone call to say all guests had to be moved to The premier inn for overnight stay as they have an ongoing contract with a tourist operator.Disgusting.Without any sleep and a lot of tears I had to go through with our wedding here as they had given us no alternative. Firstly they said it was due to a computer error, now it has become apparent the manager did this at his discretion. Not one word of apology was made to either me or my husband. Instead on wedding day manager interrupted our day and apologised to other family members,therefore family photographs were discontinued, which we will never get back. Terrible service.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Dawn M,

I genuiely believe that I have done all that is within my power to please you and Darren and that I have gone way above and beyond not just on your wedding day but with all the correspondence we have had since. I am saddened that you have chosen to post this review on Tripadvisor and I would encourage all our future guests to read our many other genuine reviews from happy couples about their wedding day experiences with us at The Clarion Hotel, Carrickfergus.

Kind Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked a Sunday Carvery, and found the experience less than satisfactory. As we ordered a jug of orange with our meal, the waitress asked for £4.20 just as we began to eat our main course, £4.20 for 1 jug of orange is the highest we have ever encountered anywhere in the UK! Main course was decent enough and well cooked, but dessert selection was terrible, as was tea/coffee from vacuum flasks, not great. Worst part was when went up for our desserts and came back to find our table cleared, I had to get waiter to replace cutlery and jug of unfinished orange, a very disappointing afternoon all round with lack of customer service!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Billy W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback reference your experience at our Sunday Carvery. I am sorry that we did not on this occasion exceed your expectations and that you were not happy paying for a jug of orange juice.

In reality I wish we didn't have to pay NI Water almost £20k per year, but we do. We have to pay for the water, the orange cordial, the glasses, the jugs and the water and staff to wash and polish the glasses and jugs. I hope this explains why we charge for a jug of orange juice.

I do hope we see you at the Sunday Carvery in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We usually choose B&Bs, but it was raining hard and we needed a place to settle. The Clarion was fine for our needs. The room was large and comfortable, the restaurant had decent food, and the staff was helpful. No complaints. Would stay here again if we were in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Kaydc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us at the Clarion Hotel, Carrickfergus. I am glad that you found the staff helpful and the room comfortable. I hope you have a pleasant and safe journey home to the USA.

Kind Regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus

Address: 75 Belfast Road, Carrickfergus BT38 8PH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickfergus Clarion
Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Carrickfergus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.