We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dobbins Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dobbins Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Carrickfergus
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This was the first time to visit Northern Ireland and I must admit that it was a good choice to stay at the Dobbins Inn Hotel. This beautiful historic building was a great place to spend a couple of nights.
When we arrived the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They were able to give us advice where to go and how to get there.
At the restaurant food was excellent and the place has a cozy atmosphere.
Our room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    45
    15
    7
    19
See reviews for
26
70
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Very friendly welcome. Don't expect Holiday Inn. This is an old style hotel/pub, and as good as it gets. If you're a stranger in town and want to be made to feel welcome and part of a place, then this is just the ticket. If you want anonymous and faceless, stay somewhere else!! I know which I prefer. This is only the second hotel review I've ever submitted, so it must be worth something.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have read the last review for the Dobbins, which is very negative. I have to say, the couple who wrote the review must have been at a different hotel. The hotel is great, it's a great location and the food is superb! The chef (Bill) is a real nice bloke and looked after us very well and even rustled us up a dish that was'nt supposed to be on our menu. Upon our arrival the lights in our room were broken, of course this was well beyond the control of the staff and must have been the resident ghost Maud (she's quite friendly really). We were moved rooms double quick and looked after very well indeed. The staff are lovely and very helpful. It's a cracking wee place with a nice personal atmosphere. I'll definitley be back. PS you'll get a cracking pint of Harp too!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Stayed one night and when I saw the room, my heart sank - apart from double bed there were two bunk beds in the corner, a TV so small you could hardly see the screen and tired and outdated decoration generally. Had lunch in the bar downstairs and the "toastie" consisted of a flaccid half toasted white bread sandwich with plastic cheese and some iceberg lettuce covered with mayonnaise on the side.

Later on after trying to peer at the tiny TV screen, went to sleep only to be awoken by post club noise outside until 4 or 5am. I ended up sleeping in the bunk bed as it was more comfortable and away from the window.

We are not used to luxury hotels but would expect (at that price £78!) a brighter room (better bedclothes, tv, repainting of room, carpets etc) - the room was shabby.

Sorry to have to say it but we'll never be back

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your time here with us.
As the hotel is in the middle of the town, we unfortunately can't control what happens outside of the building.
However should you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Maureen Fallis
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Wee hotel where you couldn't get a more friendlier welcome.

Stayed here a few times, the rooms are cosy and clean, breakfast is spot on and the staff couldn't have done more for us during our stay. They are a credit to the hotel !!

We'll be back again and again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We came upon Dobbins whilst looking for somewhere to eat lunch. We found the food excellent, the Chef came to the table to make sure we were happy, we were. Since then we have purposely returned on a number of occasions for lunch and dinner, taking friends with us. Our friends were pleasantly suprised by the standard and variety of the food not to mention the price and the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, including the Chef. One could not ask for more, an old world setting, good food and good company. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Staying recently at the very old and rather quaint Dobbins Inn Hotel we enjoyed a marvellous short break. The hotel rooms are very comfortable, good lighting and excellent beds, windows that open and everything you need. The bath was huge and deep, lashings of hot water and a brilliant shower. Plenty of hangers and room to spread out.
The outstanding feature of this hotel is the superb food - we all had different and very delicious dinners. Breakfast is cooked to perfection and served cheerfully at early hours if required - even on a Sunday! The bar is full of locals who obviously enjoy the great atmosphere and friendly ambiance.
The charming staff are well trained and we found them extremely helpful and pleasant. The whole weekend break had a charm of its own and I can thoroughly recommend the Dobbins Inn Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Address: 6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 15th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbins Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.