We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ghost stories, good food and friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dobbins Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Dobbins Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ghost stories, good food and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, I stayed for three weeks and was made to feel welcome and comfortable by everyone and I've never seen any one multitask like the front of house staff. The food was very good and, as is expected the Guinness is lovely! I would recommend Dobbins to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    19
    8
    20
See reviews for
32
79
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there just a few days ago, the staff were very friendly and even let us check in hours early. Food was nice especially the steak and breakfast was good too. The room was nice and tidy and we were made very comfortable and very welcome, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I brought some friends visiting from England into Dobbins about three weeks ago on a Thursday night. It was just before 10pm. My friends and I where surprised to see four tables in the bar area already set up for breakfast. I know the hotel has a restaurant so we found this quite strange and off putting to be honest. But we had a drink and enjoyed the Guinness. However when one of my friends went to the bar maybe a minute or so after 11pm he was told by the lady behind the bar that last orders had already been called. We were very surprised as we did not hearing anyone calling last orders. She said she had been calling last orders for 15 minutes which I find VERY Hard to believe. I told her we didn't hear as we had to sit away from the bar area and perhaps she could have come over and told us it was last orders. She curtly said she would take it on board, not a very customer friendly response. They obviously can afford to turn away custom. It was a shame as my friends have been in Dobbins before when they visit, but this is the first time this has happened.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
In response to your comment about last orders. The evening you mentioned, the manageress was on duty and remembers your party. Last orders were called at 10.45pm the bar was rather busy with lots of other customers down in the bar lounge area, however those people in the same area as you were sitting did hear last orders being called. This was confirmed by the manageress asking them,after this was disputed by a member of your party.
We allow a period of 15 minutes to ensure all customers get a chance to order and like the majority of pubs in the UK close at 11.00pm, this is not unusual and a legal obligation for us.
With reference to seeing tables set up for breakfast, I don't see how this would be 'off putting' as we use the bar lounge to serve food and throughout the day it is set up for dining. In the winter months our guests are delighted to come down to breakfast with a roaring fire and cosy environment and often comment how this is a bonus to their stay.
At no stage did the manageress wish to be rude or offensive, just factual, given the response that was received from some of your party.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
632 helpful votes 632 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A 15th century inn you can still stay in? Brilliant! 15 rooms, family owned. I was bowled over by the interior, which has so many historical features. Do ask about the priest-hole, where they’d hide away any visiting clergy. Other places put awful fake screwed-together roof beams up, here you get the real thing. I was struck by a mounted deer’s head over a big fireplace in reception. I haven’t seen a live one in years! Wheelchair access for the bar / dining areas, surprisingly, doesn’t seem to be a problem. Someone was in the other bar with one.

The hotel is right on the main street of Carrickfergus. You really can imagine horses and carriages picking people up outside in centuries past. Unique.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

I read your comments and was delighted you enjoy the history behind Dobbins. Loved the pictures you took also. Thank you for taking the time to do so.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Live locally so been here quite a few times.

Breakfast, Saturday lunch and Sunday Carvery. Never leave hungry. Always good food.

All the usually high chairs etc available for families. Kids portions large enough for adult :-)

Free wifi.

Recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Delighted to read that you regularly visit Dobbins Inn. I am also happy to read that we are continuing to provide good food, good value and friendly service. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARRICKFERGUS N IRELAND
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Visited family and stayed here for 3 nights.. room was spotless , food was excellent with varied choices and the staff we're extremely friendly .
This isn't a manufactured hotel so if that's what you want try the Lenny Henry hotel down the road .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We continuously work hard to be friendly, welcoming and offer best value for money.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just back from a one-night stay at Dobbins Inn. Our room was clean, well-presented. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and the sheets were soft. I like my comforts; and this didn't disappoint. Another reviewer mentioned the "modern generic hotels" - Dobbins has character and I would prefer to support a family-run hotel. The highlight was a lovely breakfast in front of the fire. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. Serving breakfast in the mornings in our bar lounge with a fire roaring is proving a popular part of our guest stay. Much cosier that a large and cold dining room. Thank you for your support and perhaps you will be back in this area again.

Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Address: 6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 15th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbins Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.