We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dobbins Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Dobbins Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I found the hotel to be lovely. I was traveling with my 10 week old daughter and family, instead of disturbing my family for help with bags and pram due to stairs, the staff were fantastic and so helpful. Breakfast is lovely and if you are lucky to meet the housekeeper called Edith in the mornings she will brighten your day. As for the food menu i didn't get very far as i loved the steak and stuck to it. I will be returning to the same hotel for family weddings etc as it is fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: If you are alone and travelling with a child rooms 14 and closer to stairs are ideal for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Manager at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful
Kind regards

Kirsty Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    20
    8
    20
See reviews for
35
81
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel was recommended by the Aer Lingus website as convenient for an early flight from Belfast Airport, which is surprising given it's something like 25 minutes drive away. It's central to Carrickfergus and an interesting old building. The room was very cramped but clean, but its window was immediately over a yard where smokers gathered to smoke and gossip. When we arrived there was pleasingly little noise from the public bar immediately under our room. The dinner was poor - greasy fish, limp salad. At 9pm a DJ started to play loud music in the bar, which made sleep quite impossible. The staff had been pleasant up till then, but when we asked how long this would be going on for they became surly and unhelpful. Whether there are any quiet rooms they could have offered us I don't know. The noise finished at 12.30am and by the time the bar had been cleared out we finally got fitfully to sleep about 1am. We had been promised an early call but this was not made, so it's a damned good thing sleep was fitful, so we did manage to make our early flight with no thanks to the hotel.

I don't think our expectations are unreasonable. People who sell accommodation should provide an environment where sleep is possible by say 11pm. In 4 months of travelling across 10 countries this is one of the worst hotels we have encountered. Management should decide whether they want to operate a pub or a hotel. And why Aer Lingus recommends it I cannot imagine.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read your comments and I would take on board some of what you say. The hotel was fully booked the date your stay in August and unfortunately we did not have an alternative room to move you to. We have entertainment on 1 night of the week and this is enjoyed by both regular customers and we find in house guests too, so we have continued to provide this music on a Saturday night. The manager on duty was unable to offer an alternative and did advise that the music would stop at 12.30.
With regards to your evening meal, it is disappointed to read such negative comments as we pride ourselves on serving good food. As far as I can tell from the night in question we were not aware of your issue with the food, as we would have rectified this immediately.
I am very sorry that you stated you did not received your morning call, this has been highlighted to the night team and an alternative system is now in place to ensure that this can not happen. I

Kind regards
Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We booked our room while in Belfast at the Tourist Information office across the street from the Hotel Europa (extremely helpful!!!). Anyhow, due to the Tattoo, there were no rooms in Belfast so we took the train to Carrickfergus and walked the 2 or so blocks to Dobbins Inn near the seaside. What a wonderful gem! Carrickfergus Castle is within view and easy walking distance. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had dinner in their pub and it was delicious! Breakfast was served early in the morning so that we could catch the tour bus outside the castle to the Antrim Coast and Giants Causeway. The town is picturesque and has interesting history. I would highly recommend this historic hotel and would have loved to spend more time in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on being friendly and helpful and it would seem once again we were successful.

Kind regards

Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived very late afternoon and had time to walk about the harbor and meet several folks with dogs which is our delight.

The hotel is an older building with lots of charm. Our room was fine, although the shower was set in a high tub, so was a challenge.

Ate dinner here ( wonderful), had a pint or two while we played some cribbage and relaxed. We saved the castle for the following morning. Had a very good breakfast in the dining room.

The staff were great. They got us a list of B&Bs in our next destination which helped a lot.
I would stay here again if I return to Carrickfergus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your time with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time and embraced our wee piece of history. Your comments will as always be passed onto the team.

Kind regards

Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stoped in for a meal at this Inn. The service was very friendly with advice given as to where to visit on our stay.
Good food freshly prepared .All in all very impressed. Did not stay at this Inn so cannot comment on amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your time spent here. We appreciate all comments and will duly pass onto the staff members.

Kind regards

Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hard bed.
Outdated bathroom with the worst shower controls on the island.
Cooks taking smoking breaks below our the second story window.
Hard bed.
Worst breakfast we had---instant coffee.

And I have nothing else to add but Trip Advisor sez my reviews must be at least 200 characters so I am just biding my time until I reach that number. This is not an easy thing to do nd I have to add that after a three week trip to beautiful Ireland I have a lot of reviews to publish so forgive me for this short cut.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As a listed building there is very little we can do with regards to the water pressure. Some rooms the pressure is perfect and depending on the occupancy levels some are slow. You can however a perfectly good shower with hot water but it maybe a little slow. With relation to the bed, all beds have recently been replaced and this is the first time we have had negative feedback. We do serve filter coffee at breakfast time and this is standard for most hotels.

Kind regards

Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

First time in Ireland! Dobbins Inn was recommended by a friend and how right she was!

From check in to departure I had a great experience.

All staff very friendly and were happy. Locals in the bar offered a "great crack"

The place was clean tidy and organised. Bed very comfortable (room 8), had 3 nights of good sleep. Maybe the Guinness helped a little. Ha Ha.

Beer lines very clean - all pints from various fonts very tasty.

Food absolutely fantastic from breakfast to dinner (Dear management, keep your chef)

If I get over to Ireland again will have no hesitation to stay at Dobbins Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Address: 6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 15th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbins Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.