We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded and Jaded” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dobbins Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dobbins Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Dobbins Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Faded and Jaded”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

ine £Stayed one night here and one night was enough! Very old and tired hotel. Rooms have been updated but, the bathrooms could do with an overhaul to say the least. Very overpowering smell of cleaning fluids despite long black hairs on bathroom floor and shower cublicle which was obvious hadnt been cleaned!!! Very thin walls and also very early on Sunday morning could hear the Staff having a full scale conversation from reception! On the plus side food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Two Steaks with bottle of wine £25. Excellent value but thats the only good point to make on this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs. Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your entire stay was not satisfactory.
I was happy to read that your did enjoy the food served during your stay and found it to be of great value.
We take all comments on board and as a small establishment we continue to work on all areas of our business.

Kind regards

Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    19
    8
    20
See reviews for
32
79
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

i stayed here in october and the staff are excellent however if im coming here again, ill get a later flight. not much to do in carrickfergus apart from the event i was at. the only thing i would call a negative was that the room was freezing. if the temperature was turned up it would have got full marks. breakfast in the morning was great.

Room Tip: not room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDobbins, Owner at Dobbins Inn Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. All feedback is necessary and welcomed, to ensure we improve areas and continue to work on our business.

Kind regards

Maureen Fallis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed one night here, made very welcome, food looked amazing, pity we had eaten before we arrived. Breakfast was good though. Big comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities in the room. Glad I stayed here rather than the more modern hotels. Central location close to Carrickfergus Castle and the harbour. Lots of character and down to earth people. Will hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hotel is old but has great character rooms are nice lovely big comfy bed food was excellent and great value we stayed here with friends for the weekend and had a ball . What I will say that the staff have all been excellent and very attentive I've been to much larger and posher hotels which could learn alot from Dobbins !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Whilst you won't be blown away with the size of the room, the location of this place is ideal. Situated locally to the "main event" Carrickfergus Castle and a stone throw from the harbour complex which caters for people in both food and drink.

The staff were very warm and welcoming and their "If you're a resident the bar s open all night" policy couldn't have been a better surprise.

We ventured into nearby Belfast and enjoyed the experiece, although I will say, I'd like my bathroom a little cleaner and my shower with a little more oooomph!!

Generally a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

second time staying, food still outstanding, home cooking at its best, room very clean and comfortable, very friendly owners, perfect stop off in our 3 day trip around the Causeway Coast...new cool cafes and shops from last visit...always a lovely visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Didn.t stay at hotel but would if the time was right. Lunch was lovely and staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and when the vegetarian option had run out they made something else vegetarian instead. Doesn't look like much from the outside but don't judge a book by its cover :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dobbins Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dobbins Inn Hotel

Address: 6- 8 High Street, Carrickfergus BT38 7AF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carrickfergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dobbins Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn dating back to 15th Century, with many a ghostly tale, located in the heart of Carrickfergus.15 well appointed bedrooms, ensuite & with complimentary WIFI. Popular bar lounge & restaurant serving traditional food throughout the day.Small meeting room for personal dining or team conferences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dobbins Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobbins Hotel Carrickfergus
Dobbins Inn Hotel Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dobbins Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.