We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrickfergus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses
Save
You added Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses to your Saves list
Whitehead, Carrickfergus BT38 9NZ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Joliet, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here in May of 2013 and it was a great experience. I was hesistate at first because of no TV and internet, however, this ended up being a bonus. We walked the trails and talked, read and really enjoyed re-connecting without the daily routines. The house was clean and had everything we needed except coal for the fireplace. At night it was a little chilly.
A must do if you are in Ireland.

Pump and Family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Two families stayed in the lighthouse - 4 adults and 3 children, plenty of space. The place is decorated to perfection, lots of everything you need for a good trip. Roads very narrow but you get used to driving on them pretty quickly There is a second house on site but great privacy between the two. Would recommend this to anyone wishing to have a family get together or group of friends just wanting to chill"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
637 helpful votes 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I did NOT stay in this place, but can tell you all about what’s right outside it.

Birdwatcher’s heaven: I was in a car on the lane that leads to the light house when a brace of very strange-looking baby birds popped out of the bushes. They looked for all the world like young ostrich – the staff in Whitehead Library later identified them for me as pheasant chicks. They bobbed along like clockwork toys - dumb as a box of rocks, jumping out and running in front of a car! A local bird watcher tells me they are a bit thick. Happily we were driving so slowly that they kept ahead and then dived off into the bushes on the other side.

That day I saw several fulmar patrolling the cliffs. Out at sea there are gannets. On the shoreline rocks cormorants and shag stand and dry off after every swim. In summer terns dive bomb the sea like skinny white kingfishers.

Other wildlife: Seals, Bottlenosed dolphins, common dolphins and even killer whales can be sighted from here. I watched the huge fin of a basking shark out on the lough for a long period one day. Neighbours of mine saw a common lizard on the path, Ireland’s only reptile species. In summer you also get bats and butterflies.

Views: up the coast of Islandmagee, south to Whitehead, across Belfast Lough to Banger and Down (Scrabo Tower is always on the horizon), the Copeland Islands, the great pudding shape of Ailsa Craig, and Scotland beyond. No wonder the tower was built here!

Geocaching: s a free real-world outdoor treasure hunt. There’s a hidden “geocache” container very near the light house. You can search for it with a smartphone or GPS. Find the cache and you can sign the logbook and see what other mementoes others have left in there. Online you can share your experience of playing the game.

Walking: Blackhead Cliff Path combines seashore, cliffs, and hilltop fields with added benches, shelters, fitness equipment and even sculptures.

Amenities: you get a real sense of idyllic detachment up at the lighthouse, but the town of Whitehead is only 5 minutes away by car. That has a library, post office, golf courses, pubs, an art gallery, tennis courts, steam trains, a bowling green, and several takeaways and restaurants.

If I didn’t already live here, I’d want to book a room!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A group of us stayed here for the weekend. The property itself is so old and full of history such an interesting place to stay. Lots to read up on as well. The kitchen is well maintained with lots of crockery etc. The house itself is nice and warm as the heating seems to be left on constant. There is a lovely main double bedroom on the first floor. Another bedroom which has a double and a single bed. There were two smaller single bedrooms on the lower level but we found these to be quite damp and we dragged the mattresses up to the sitting room to sleep on, otherwise it wouldn't have been very comfortable. The house has two bathrooms, one with a bath and another with a shower. Sitting room has a workable fire and the caretaker is a lovely woman who is very helpful regarding sourcing firewood etc. The property as you can imagine is windswept. Bring your thermals with you, especially in the winter-time. There is a lovely coastal cliff-walk beside the lighthouse and lots of people walk it. Not much phone signal. There is no TV and radio is a bit dodgy - again probably because of location. A fab place to get well and truly away from it all but if you are staying longer than the weekend, bring a book!

Room Tip: I'd stay in the Summer-time if using all the bedrooms as the ones downstairs aren't well ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a few years back but it is important imformation.We had booked this property for christmas 2009 and that was the year of the bad snow. We checked if it was possible to get there and we also advised that we had a 4x4. We were advised that it was difficult but it should be ok and most importantly they were still willing to rent the property to us. We arrived, the person with the key could not get to the property and met us in a car part to give us the keys. We barely got into the property as the private road was a sheet of ice. However the entrance to the proprerty was also sheet ice and even trying to walk into it was impossible, The door into the yard was off its hinges and once in the house we were unable to leave for days. We were assisted in getting out by a man who was living in the house next door and we broke up the ice with pick axes so we could drive out of the property to the shops. The Irish landmark trust were of no use to us at all and did not seem to know what to do when we said we were stuck. It was too icy to do the cliff walks and we were effectively house bound for the four days. Despite this and despite the lack of response from the landmark trust we had a good time and the views are stunning. However we will never book with the irish landmark trust again.
When we got home I complianed and asked for our money back initially they refused but on receipt of a solicitors letter they refunded us our money. However they never communicated with us and just refunded the money to my credit card with no explaination. This is a pity as a sorry would have been enough and I was a regular customer of theirs staying over 6 times in different properties. Now however I will not return as they really dont know how to deal with customers when things go wrong. I now do all my visits to historic buildings with the UK landmark trust and they are so much more an efficient organisation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I stayed here in May of 2009. We travelled from the Canadian prairies straight to Whitehead and into the lightkeepers house. It was amazing to say the least. There's a view of the Irish Sea with Scotland in the far distance from every giant shuttered window in the house. It is not a place where I would want TV or internet. This is a georgeous environment which is saturated with history. Irish Landmark Trust were completely professional and I would recommend both them and the lightkeeper's house to anyone seeking old world comfort with more view than you know what to do with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

old lightkeepers house. well fitted out with modern amenities.
beautiful windswept location. views out to see and fantastic sea side walk into whitehead.
2 rooms in the house we were in . both massive and very comfortable beds.
modern shower room downstairs. free standing bath with view of lightohuse upstairs.
open fire in the sitting room, enough fuel for the first 2 nights on arrival.
beautiful spot if you want to get away from it all.
no phone reception, no internet... idyllic.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses

Address: Whitehead, Carrickfergus BT38 9NZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrickfergus
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.