We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round joyous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dungannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grange Lodge
Save
You added Grange Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Grange Rd., Dungannon BT71 7EJ, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An all round joyous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent four days with Ralph and Nora and what a fantastic time. Ralph and Nora were the most attentive hosts I have ever met. Nothing was too much trouble and they are so friendly. The room was full of beautiful items, well appointed, well decorated and with a marvellous bathroom. Clean, cared for and just like a high class home. Both Ralph and Nora went out of their way to help us in every way yet not intrusive. The breakfast, especially the special bushmill porridge, was a real set you up for the day affair with marvellous home made breads, compote, and a full irish if wanted. Ralph and Nora would make whatever you wanted from just toast to a three course spread. Set in beautiful grounds and so quiet and peaceful yet not far from town and Linen Green shopping. All in all very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the individually decorated rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Grange Lodge for two days to see a bit of Northern Ireland, particularly some of the rural countryside where a lot of the Quaker emigration to America in the 1600s originated. Ralph and Norah are the consummate hosts -- so welcoming, pleasant and lovely -- and Norah's cooking is to die for! Ralph's speciality is the whisky-infused porridge, which you also must try. By all means, book at least one dinner in advance as well as enjoying the breakfasts while you are there. The oldest parts of the house are 300 years old, but the room was welcoming, the bed was comfortable, and the room overlooked the lovely countryside as far as the eye could see from the Grange's hilltop location. The Grange is an easy drive to Armagh, a bit further to Belfast, and close to several old Quaker meeting houses (the Grange, Moyallon, and the original Lurgan meeting house, where the original 1696 cornerstone can still be found nearby). We loved Ralph and Norah's hospitality and our comfortable, restful stay at the Grange. We will be back!

Room Tip: We liked the Green Room, overlooking the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wonderful property which is beautifully decorated. The hospitality is second to none; Ralph was standing at the door to meet me and was a real gent. The food - cooked by the amazing Nora was exceptional. All the ingredients were in season and locally sourced, and you can taste the difference! Please, please try the Bushmills porridge at breakfast - by God it will set you up for the day! I can't wait to return with my husband.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

A nice country house, run by two lovely peolpe. Stunning country manor house, with nice gardens and very convenient location- only 2 mile from M1. Breakfast was magnificient. Diner was a feast to behold! Def will stay again- highly reccommended- you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

....than hosts Ralph and Nora. They clearly love what they do and it's reflected throughout their establishment as well as in their enthusiasm for guests. We were treated to an expertly prepared breakfast on a beautifully set table. They attend to every detail and sincerely put guests' comfort first. I regret not booking a few more days here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I recently stayed at Grange Lodge for two nights while conducting my business in the local area. I found the hospitality and comfort of this establishment was truly excellent. The country feel and relaxed nature worked for me especially aft a busy day at work. I appreciated the conversation with the hosts and felt at home really quickly. I will be rebooking when I am back in the area. Thank you
Lance Hemphill

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Friendly hosts, lovely property out in the country and a house full or ornaments and memorabilia. We had an early checkin and late checkout which they were helpful with. Norah was not cooking the night we stayed but recommended Green's Wine Bar which was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge

Address: 7 Grange Rd., Dungannon BT71 7EJ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Dungannon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Dungannon, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.