We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wWonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenavon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glenavon House Hotel to your Saves list
Glenavon House Hotel
52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8JQ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cookstown
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wWonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a wonderful couple of days at Glenavon Hotel in July 2013.We can't speak more highly of the reception staff, particularly Roslyn and Ann , who went out of their way to help my husband find information about his ancestors who came from the Ardboe area.They also showed a genuine interest in linking us with some of the local Ardboe contacts.Our room was exceptional - very spacious, clean and comfortable.The breakfast also offered a wide selection of cooked food and cereals. The facilities for the pool, spa and sauna were also professionally run and maintained. The hotel was very well priced for the location, facilities and services offered.We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Lorraine B

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay in the Hotel.

We are delighted that staff were able to help you in your search for your relatives from Ardboe - Ann and Roslyn in particular were "chuffed" with their special mention. We were also pleased to learn that you were very happy with our facilities.

Once again can I thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    34
    27
    11
    17
See reviews for
43
41
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the moment we were greeted at Reception we knew we had made the right choice. All the staff from Housekeeping, Bar, Kitchen and Waiting staff could not have made our stay anymore prefect. Nothing was ever too much trouble, the reception staff even found out bus time tables for us! The room we had was very clean and comfortable. We have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel for 'over and above' service from execeptional friendly and professional staff.

Room Tip: Advise reception of your own requirements and they will endeavour to meet them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jan C

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to the hotel - the hotel staff are thoroughly chuffed with your very kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed super hospitality during your stay.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at some time in the future - we are very lucky that we get to meet and work with such lovely people.

Kind regards

Paula WIlson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel could not have asked for anything more ... Staff service food all exceptional .... everyone was more than helpful and so friendly ! also great location to town centre within walking distance ... The hotel itself for a wedding Is outstanding and the function room is very big and beautiful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Lindaoneill

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent wedding. We are all pleased to hear that everything was a success and delighted in particular with your lovely comments about the staff and the banqueting suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some time in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had the pleasure of having my wedding reception in the Glenavon Hotel in April 2013. Everything was fantastic!!!
I had 220 guests, many from Co. Mayo so when deciding on a venue I obviously wanted to impress them and I wanted everything to be perfect for their weekend stay.
From the outset i was reassured by banqueting manager James.I didn't have to worry about a thing.He allievated any worries that i had regarding the entire weekend.All the staff were friendly and provided excellent customer service. The meal at the reception was delicious. We cannot thank the Glenavon Hotel enough. The top class service that was provided allowed myself and my husband to enjoy our special day but most importantly for me, my wedding guests are still talking about the hotel with the hope that many will return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear EmmaK

Thank you for your kind comments following your wedding in the hotel.

We were delighted that your many guests, especially those who had travelled from Mayo thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the meal & service were up to our usual high standards - I have to say all your guests were an absolute pleasure to deal with!

Wishing you both good luck and happiness.. see you for your Anniversary meal if not before!

Kind Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

hotel was lovely and staff were very friendly and place was nice and clean, our room was a very spacious will def b going back. We were told where our room was it could be quite noisy as their niteclub is on a mon night, but we said it was ok and to be honest it wasn't to bad, but thought it was nice of the staff to warn us before we booked

Room Tip: there is a spa but didn't use it this time but hopefully next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Alison D

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent stay in the hotel.

We were delighted to learn of your satisfaction with the facilities, service and friendly staff. We work hard to meet all our guests expectations and it is lovely when guests take the time to let us know what we have done well!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently held our wedding here.
Room for the reception was brilliant. Food is outstanding.
Honeymoon suite was gorgeous and had breakfast brought to us next day in bed.
Service was brilliant as was atmosphere.
Great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear SJ W

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent wedding.

We are delighted that everything went according to plan and that you & your guests had a great day enjoying excellent food and service! Delighted that you enjoyed the Bridal Suite and breakfast in bed.

Wishing you both good luck and happiness in the future - we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary meal if not before!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Myself and my friends stayed in the Glenavon in May. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night.

Our entire experience was excellent. The rooms, the food and the service were second to none. I have stayed in many places but I have yet to meet staff who were as friendly and as helpful as the staff at the Glenavon. They left us wanting for nothing and would do whatever they could to help us.

The rooms were excellent and extremely comfortable. I had a lot of work to do while I was there and the internet provided was top quality. Zero lag, no crashes and connected without and connected without an issue.

Padraic

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Padraic7

Thank you so much for your very kind comments!

We are delighted that you rated the rooms, food & service second to none during your short stay The staff are particularly pleased with your remarks on how they were the friendliest and most helpful you have every met!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time and thank you sincerely for taking the time to make write this "motivational" review!

Kind regards

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8JQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenavon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.