We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but consistently good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otter Lodge

Otter Lodge
26 Dungannon Road, Cookstown BT80 8TL, Northern Ireland
28 86765427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Cookstown
Price range: $29 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No frills but consistently good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Travel home to visit my folks at least once a year and usually end up with a trip to Otter Lodge. The orders are taken from the bar and you have to sort your own cutlery but apart from that, the service is spot on. Good menu with plenty of choice including a specials board, great helpings, their famous garlic fries and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    15
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good as Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Was back at this restaurant last week and it still remains one of my favourites world wide. We were lucky enough to eat outside on the terrance on a beautiful summer evening. With the river flowing past, the birds singing and good company I cannot think of a better place to be. Food as always was great and the deserts are amazing. Price is reasonable but actually for what you get it is outstanding. Would I go back, YES.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very average and getting pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been here on a handful of occasions for business lunches etc. and recently for a family get together. Each time I have found the food perfectly acceptable but it simply isn't worth the money. I have been to other restaurants which include the side order in the priceor else give you 3 courses for the price of the main. You'll get no special offers at the Lodge and you'll pay for every option (for not particularly large portions either).

Dont get me wrong - nice enough surroundings and decent enough food but there's nothing about it which would make me choose it over some other local establishments. Oh yes, and the staff werent that interested in us either, for example, my daughter couldnt sense the young girl into what she wanted as the girl simply wasnt pay attention (must have had a hard night the night before!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Frequent customer but have become disappointed. Would have been my No 1 restaurant but not anymore!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have always been a frequent customer of Otter Lodge and always recommended it to friends. However on the past 3 occasions the standard has dropped dramatically. Food really disappointing. Service bad, chips not properly cooked (hard in middle) steak tough and portion quantity small. Really bad you would need to revisit or you will loose good valued customers. Even menu now is disappointing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“2 course special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I sampled the Moroccan spiced salmon with couscous and the coconut and jam sponge with custard. Both were delicous.
My main course was served within 20 minutes of ordering.
The staff were polite.
Only downside was I picked the worst table to sit at - I peered out at a cement wall for the duration of my stay. I only hope that the works being carried outside will be completed as quick as possible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otter Lodge also viewed

Cookstown, County Tyrone
Cookstown, County Tyrone
 
Cookstown, County Tyrone
 

Been to Otter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.