We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for people wanting an early night, but could be great fun if you joined in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drovers Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Drovers Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Drovers Arms Hotel
Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carmarthen
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not for people wanting an early night, but could be great fun if you joined in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For £56 including two hearty freshly cooked breakfast and a welcoming smile from all staff you cannot complain.

We went to bed at 10:30pm, but could not get to sleep for what seemed like hours, because of the noise coming from the bar's smoking area. If you joined in with the singing and guitar playing, you could have had jolly good time.

The location of the pub was right in the centre of town and very easy to find using sat nav. Parking was easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the smoking area if you want to go to sleep before closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a large double room and large bathroom. The shower was over the bath but very powerful and easily adjustable. We could alter the heating to our liking and had a very comfortable nights sleep. A substantial breakfast, which was cooked to our request. We booked this at very short notice and were very pleased with our stay. If we were visiting this area again we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The drovers Arms is a local pub with excallent accomadation.Ihave stayed in a number of pubs during my travels but the welcome from the staff and local bar users serpasses all. The breakfast is good and Made to order.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

On arrival we were met by pleasant staff who helped us to our room.
The room was clean and airy with brilliant white bedlinen and towels,
The food was excellent especially the steak.

Room Tip: Fantastic value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have stayed here previously and was horrified but after new management have taken over since before Christmas 2011 I have since returned and all I can say is WOW.

Room Tip: If you have visited this place before November 2011 I urge you to return and I can guarantee that AN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding-hotel ok-barman good-music far too loud in bar-wasnt impressed with the [--] words coming from the women in the kitchen while having breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here for one night prior to picking my son up from University. Distinctly unimpressed.

This is a Hotel and pub, on arrival there was loud music playing with a few people in the bar area who had one too many but the reception from the staff was good, showed to the room, which was on the top floor. Room was a good size, sparsely furnished with a small double bed, small chest of pine drawers which doubled as a night stand with a lamp. Small, old TV with freeview on a low table with tea & coffee sachets. The room was clean, en-suite bathroom, with 'shower' over the bath.

On the positive side, the room was clean. Bed was ok..ish and the linen and towels were clean.

Negatives. Shower was not working. Bin was broken. Toilet seat was broken. Side light was, yep, broken! Freeview did not work for more than 5 minutes before dropping out. No wardrobe, hangers on the back of the door! Paper thin walls (so was woken by the next door neighbour getting up at 5, and it was clear he was trying to be quiet)! Supplied Tea pot was rusty, kettle had seen better days and was plugged into an extension cable that looked a bit worse for wear and interrupted the already poor TV signal. Half a roll of toilet paper supplied, and the advertised complimentary soaps and shampoo had been there for so long there were dust balls stuck to the underneath. At least there was a switch in the bathroom ceiling so the noisy extractor fan could be turned off.

On arrival I could not pay by credit card, it does say on the website I used, so that was my fault for not checking.

I was informed breakfast would be continental rather than the advertised cooked one, not a problem so I went to the dining area at 8am (as per the welcome page in the room) to discover the room was in darkness and there was no one about and the obviously no breakfast at that time.

That was the final straw, I left and will not be returning to either the Hotel or the town by choice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drovers Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drovers Arms Hotel

Address: Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Drovers Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drovers Arms Hotel Wales/Carmarthen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drovers Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.