We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely bed and breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose and Crown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rose and Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose and Crown Hotel
Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Carmarthen
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely bed and breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Me and my friends had a lovely stay at this hotel. The atmosphere was great and all the staff were extremely friendly. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
7
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neyland, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Four of us ate at this establishment on Saturday 8th of October Two ordered steak with all the trimmings My husband and I ordered lamb cutlets on buttered leeks and fluffy mash What arrived was two steaks with all the trimmings and two portions of said lamb without the fluffy mash but with chips When I went too the bar to complain I had to wait until waitrees and some sort of chef finished texting approx 5 mins There response was chips was ordered with everything which was not true there attitude was disgusting and will never return to this place or anybody else that I know.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This could have been an enjoyable stay, but was ruined by noise.
First impressions were that the bar and restaurant areas were very nice. The room overlooked the main street, was of a reasonable size, bright and reasonably clean (could have done with a hoover). The rooms have been refurbished but are of a cheap standard, dont expect luxury.
We ate in the bar and both food and service were very good.
We went out for the night and when we arrived back the pub was lively, which you would expect at 10pm on a thursday night.
However despite being able to drop off to sleep my husband and i were woken at 1.30am by singing and shouting from the bar below. This continued until 2.30am when i rang the bar and asked the barman to try and get the group to quieten down. They did a bit, but woke us again at 3.45am when the group finally retired to bed.

Now if you stay in a pub you expect some noise, some music, shouting etc up to midnight. However allowing guests to get absolutely hammered then sing and shout until nearly 4am just shows a lack of respect for any other guests staying there.

Breakfast was ok but service was slow and i dont think it was worth the £7 they charge. If you stay overlooking the street you will be woken by traffic noise.

Again, this could have been a lovely night away if it wasnt for the hotel allowing guests to behave like they were in magaluf, not carmarthen.
Would not stay again, and if we hadnt paid in advance i would have refused to pay in the morning, i would have been more rested sleeping in my car overnight!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

This is probably the worst experience my wife and I have had of a hotel stay. First, the duvet cover was dirty, the sheets looked as if they been washed so manta times they lacked comfort. The road outside is noisy early in the morning. Breakfast was a joke,service was very slow, no brown bread and it is certainly not
value for money. Travel Lodges are cleaner, crispy, more refreshing and certainly better value for money. First and last time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
At my PC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed for one night at the Rose and Crown and don't have any complaints at all. It is easy to find although the only parking is on street or in the adjacent pay and display car park. TIP- If you park in the pay and display you have to be at your car at 8.00am to get a parking ticket,. If you park on street you can stay until 8.30am. If you intend leaving after this time, park on the street and then get an extra 1/2 hour in bed and then move the car to the pay and display!!.

Check in is at the bar and the gentleman was polite and helpful. The rooms and all the hotel decor, were all very clean and modernised and although small, the twin room had all the mod cons and a large en suite shower room. A nice touch was towels with shampoo laid out neatly on the bend.

I did not eat at the Rose and Crown as the town centre location meant it was ideal to explore the restaurants and pubs in the town and I ate the indian restaurant 'Ginger' - another reccomended experience. I returned for a nigh cap at the large and welcoming modern bar before going to bed.

Breakfast is served from 8.00am and a very pleasant and friendly waitress served a really well cooked fried breakfast made with really good ingredients and none of the greasy rubbish served up by some places.

Cost of the stay including breakfast was £57 for one night in a twin en suite room which I thought was great value.

For a business traveller, this place knocks spots off a pokey Travelodge in the middle of nowhere and I will definatly be staying at the Rose and Crown again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The Rose and Crown Hotel is basically a town pub with rooms. I have stayed in two other hotels in Carmarthen on business (the Ivy Bush and the Falcon) and the Rose and Crown has the best bedrooms. This will suit you if (like me) you prefer staying away in pubs rather than hotels. You will enjoy yourself here if you understand that it is a lively town pub that stays open late and is ever-so-slightly rough at the edges. The staff are friendly and they made a point of saying "welcome" when I checked in at the bar. The restaurant is well-priced and the food competent; it was busy with a local, mainly middle-aged clients - obviously quite laid back, as there was loud music and from the juke box in the bar area. Breakfast is £7 for guests, but confusingly you could walk-in off the street and have a traditional breakfast for £5.60. There is no healthy option of yoghurts or fruit - it's the fry-up or breakfast bap (£2.95) only. Point to improve - proper sausages please! Bring your own hair dryer or get one before you go to bed for a £5 deposit. I will use this hotel again if travelling on my own. The corporate room rate I paid was good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010 via mobile

Great location, friendly & professional staff, good food, & exceptional family room. Our 3 night stay (Fri - Mon) was let down by the extremely loud disco on both the Friday and Saturday night - a disco which takes place every week & doesn't finish until 2am. Would happily have recommended it had the disco finished at midnight, ...

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown Hotel

Address: Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose and Crown Hotel offers 10 en-suite bedrooms on a bed & breakfast tariff. This former coaching inn, in the centre of Carmarthen, underwent major renovation in 2005. All rooms are fully refurbished & decorated in a modern style. There is a choice of double twin and family rooms, all with wifi, sky tv, dvd, radio, tea and coffee making facilities. Our busy bar and restaurant provide quality ales and premium lagers, serving prime welsh steak, fish and seafood, quality local produce, and luscious desserts.We are a comfortable 40 minutes drive from the ferry port of Pembroke Dock, and about 50 minutes from Fishguard.We are easy to find. Parking is plentiful- there are large car parks within 50 yards, and coach parking close by. Just follow signs for the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Wales/Carmarthen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose and Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.