We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recomended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Butchers Arms

The Butchers Arms
Llanddarog, Carmarthen SA32 8NS, Wales
01267 275 330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 112 Restaurants in Carmarthen
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A traditional Welsh country pub - from original oak beams, cosy rooms & roaring fire to homemade locally sourced ingredients & Welsh speaking staff. A True taste of Wales!David & Mavis have owned The Butchers for 30 years and have built up a good reputation for serving quality homemade food at a reasonable price. The old Stable block will be open to overnight guests in August 2012
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recomended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I called here after a recommendation from some friends. We were not disappointed. A lovely place with good food and a lovely, relaxing atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our visit-we will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    22
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another faultless meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is our second visit to the Butchers, we would really love to visit more but with a young family it's not so easy! it is important that we find somewhere that caters for the children but still offers great quality food. The Butchers Arms once again did not disappoint. We had a fantastic evening and the food was delicious. It has such a lovely atmosphere there that you really feel at home whilst still serving meals of such a high quality. I would certainly recommend a visit and we hope to call back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yet another wonderful visit to The Butchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited The Butchers again last weekend, this time with a group of friends, and once again we had a wonderful experience; the food was divine, the service great and overall a lovely, lovely night out.
To the owners of this wonderful pub and their staff - whatever you are doing keep doing it because it works!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This very busy establishment is busy for a VERY good reason. The meals, the ambiance, the friendly service from ALL the staff, it is superb. I have written reviews for The Butchers Arms before as it is a family favourite and caters for all ages. We visited on St David's Day with friends who were staying with us from Southern Ireland and they were thoroughly enchanted with the whole experience. From the friendly warm welcome, the interesting items and memorabilia on show and the food which was in abundance and beautifully cooked and presented. The Highwayman's Platter (always a favourite) and the lunch time special of Baked Cod was plentiful, so much so there was just no room for puddings. The owners Mavis and David do everything they can to make customers feel welcome, but as the saying goes “You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time.”. I would also like to add that some people just like moaning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a great country location. The ambiance of the restaurant is great too. Unfortunately the front of house cannot handle the the pressure of serving the customer. We were aware of the time limits of our booking but made feel as of we needed to drink up and eat up as soon as we sat down. A number of people on the night felt the same and a few walked out. The maître d unfortunately could not handle the pressure of the bookings. I paid £ 40 a head with one non drinker so felt I deserved restaurant quality and service. I hope the butchers read this and have the courtesy and generosity to reply.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butchers Arms also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butchers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.