We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Butchers Arms

The Butchers Arms
Llanddarog, Carmarthen SA32 8NS, Wales
01267 275 330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 112 Restaurants in Carmarthen
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A traditional Welsh country pub - from original oak beams, cosy rooms & roaring fire to homemade locally sourced ingredients & Welsh speaking staff. A True taste of Wales!David & Mavis have owned The Butchers for 30 years and have built up a good reputation for serving quality homemade food at a reasonable price. The old Stable block will be open to overnight guests in August 2012
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

What to say had a Lovely visit to the Butchers Arms. The food was great ( and plenty of it ) The service and staff were very polite and welcoming, i would defiantly recommend it and would go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    22
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Went along on Friday last week as this was recommended by a friend of mine.
We hadn't booked, but turned up on the off-chance, and luckily for us there was a table available.
The waitress who showed us to our table was very nice. We were given menus and although we had to wait a little while before she returned to take our order, we couldn't complain as they were very busy and we had arrived unannounced.
It was, as my friend had already alluded to, very friendly and had a warm cosy feel about it, probably something to do with the open fire. Really nice.
Anyway, the waitress took our order and it arrived after about a 15 minute wait, perfectly acceptable by anyone's reckoning. I had a mixed grill, although it wasn't called that (wish I could remember what it was called as I could also recommend that too - if you go ask for the mixed grill, they will know what you mean) and my wife had one of the specials with lamb.
It was perfect. A little big (which is saying something) but excellent.
My wife's was also superb.
We are not big wine drinkers even though they seemed to have a good selection, but the draught beer was excellent and my wife was driving so she was drinking some orange thing.
My only complaint is that the night went too quickly.

The lady who runs the place seemed really nice although she was running around looking after a party next to us who seemed to be celebrating something.

All I can add is that the food was lovely, really fresh and home-cooked, huge portions (maybe a little too big but why would anyone moan about that :-) ) and the staff were friendly, accommodating and nattered quite happily to the pair of us and nothing seemed too much trouble.
A really lovely evening all around. We will definitely be going again (although I'll book next time).
A real gem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Basil Fawlty at the Butchers Arms!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Where shall i begin? we arrived at our allocated time only to get a dressing down for being late (we were on time). we were frog marched to our table by lady proprietor. had to ask for menus. two of the party went to the bar to get drinks. then she asked where the other party had 'disappeared' to? to which i replied 'to the bar'. she was very impatient and wanted our order immediately.as one of our party was sufferng from morning sickness, she wanted two starters or a childs meal instead of one big meal. therefore we asked the waitress for the childs menu. the waitress was very obliging and brought us the childs menu. Basil (lady proprietor) heard that our friend had asked for a childs meal and glared at our friend as if she had committed a serious crime!
Basil began a tirade of verbal abuse towards the poor waitress (who, incidentaly was no more than 15) infront of our party! we didn't know where to look. to watch a 60+ year old woman lash out on a young girl was dispicable. she point blank refused to serve our friend a childs meal.
the whole episode put a dampener on the evening and we felt like naughty school children.
food was quite poor. the simpler meals were the best. the other meals were microwaved cash and carry ready meals (sorry castell howell but there's a time and a place for your food, like a burger van).
we were a party of 10 and spent a lot of money, however, we didn't get so much as a thank you as we left. suprisingly, i will not be visiting there again. What is wrong with the proprietors of the only two pubs in llanddarog?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful lovely cosy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lovely and cosy country pub, friendly staff, food was of quality and service was second to none. Very good value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I visited the Butchers for a weekday lunch. The cars parked outside assured us that it was quite popular. The food and service was absolutly faultless with a varied specials menu along with the usual choices. Both meals were delicious and cooked to perfection with real home made chips. We both had a sweet which were homemade also and similarly delicious . The food here is retaurant standard but with pub food prices. "I Recommend this place" just doesnt say enough.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butchers Arms also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butchers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.