We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fascinating place - if you like industrial archaeology!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kidwelly Industrial Museum

Kidwelly Industrial Museum
Broadford | Kidwelly, Carmarthen SA17 4LW, Wales
+44 1554 891078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Attractions in Carmarthen
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of one of Britain's oldest tinplate works Original machinery and buildings are on show along with exhibits on coal mining, other industries and crafts.
Abbotskerswell, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Fascinating place - if you like industrial archaeology!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This museum is unique. It is really well laid out and all the films and artefacts gave a real feel of what the tin industry must have been like. As a retired teacher I think it would be a great place to take children Just a shame that some of the Welsh/English signs were absent on the film buttons!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Felt like we were trespassing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A trip out with two of our children (age 2 and 3, both boys) took us to this tucked away museum. Good car parking, nicely presented grounds and buildings, excellent signage. Good going for prams and little feet. Somewhat surprised to see only one member of staff on the whole site and the visit felt very much as though we were kids playing on an unused site. Kids (and engineer husband) a loved the locomotives gently rusting by the side of the path; given the 'Don't Touch' notices everywhere we were surprised to be allowed onto such a dilapidated object.

The Museum tells the story of the Welsh tin mining and processing industry. It does this by many displays of equipment and loads of display boards (so many of these, it became tedious). While we appreciate there is a need to keep visitors safe, there was an over abundance of notices telling us not to touch, dangerous etc. One if the largest display areas was cordoned off so we only saw half of the space.

The ticket office (well, it's free entry) looks like one of those wooden temporary classrooms. It says it is a cafe but, apart from the few tables, I didn't see anything else cafe-esque.

Overall, if you fancy a trip lasting a couple of hours largely in the open air it is nice place. Much more could be done to encourage an emotional response to the story. It is a very passive experience. Only the disabled toilet was open for use.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Tucked away down a narrow lane at the back of Kidwelly is this industrial museum, sited on the second oldest tinplate works in the world.

It's obvious that a lot of time and effort has been put into explaining the history of the tinplate industry, with very interesting archive film (in both English and Welsh) showing what it was like to work there. The machines, tools and other artefacts give a real sense of "place". There are also couple of locomotives, one steam the other diesel, positioned around the site. One is able to wander freely inside the various buildings, as well as the cabs of the engines.

When we initially arrived we missed the car park and drove round the actual site. This was because the carpark was completely empty and we were the only visitors.The attendant in the entrance building, however, was very friendly, chatty and helpful. This aspect can make or mar a visit to a place such as this.

My wife and I really enjoyed looking around, though my teenage daughters were much less enthusiastic - it was their second museum of the day.

The bookshop had a few items; I bought a book on the history of South Wales tinplate. There didn't appear to be a guide of the actual site though. Entrance is free - there is no pressure to make a donation but I wanted to as in a way I felt sorry for the place.

We were visiting in the middle of the peak tourist season. Though the attendant said there had been visitors earlier and some other arrived after us, this museum really needs to be better promoted. It also saddened me to hear that they'd not had many school visits that year either.

So a hidden gem well worth a visit. It's worth checking their website for opening times as they aren't open every day, even in the high season.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Plenty to see. We were the only ones there. Not a wet weather attraction owing to moving around different sheds to see exhibits. Very interesting

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantrisant, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really enjoyed my time here. Don't expect to spend all day at this site, but it a great place to spend a few hours taking in the exhibitions.
A real bonus is that most of the displays have not been restored, hence they show the signs of aging - great for photographers.
This place could easily charge for admission but is absolutely free

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kidwelly Industrial Museum also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Kidwelly Industrial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kidwelly Industrial Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.