We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage BUT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Cottage Holidays

Rainbow Cottage Holidays
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmarthen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Cottage Holidays
Save
You added Rainbow Cottage Holidays to your Saves list
Whitemill, Carmarthen, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottinghamshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage BUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely cottage, wonderfully equipped BUT we stayed in November '12, arrived on a Fri afternoon and left on the following Monday morning as we had a very poorly dog, whom we have now lost (we were booked for 2wks). The cottage was freezing on arrival and Jeremy kindly lit the log burner for us. We also turned on the electric heater in the sitting room (on high for 4hrs only) and the bathroom heater (on very low for the duration of our stay). We used the cooker once to warm food we had taken with us, the rest of the time we cooked on the top of log burner. We used no other electric other than the normal TV, lights, shower etc. During our time there (Fri mid-pm to Mon midday) we fed the electric meter to the tune of £25+!!! On top of that we used 4 bags of logs from Jeremy at the cost of £5 per bag, when we ran out we asked for more but Jeremy told us to go to the local garage as he wasn't cutting anymore until the Mon. We bought 5 bags from the garage at a cost of £4 per bag. Wood therefore costing a total of £44. Add that to the electricity cost and it makes a total of £69, an average of £23/day or £161/wk. It's too expensive for us to consider staying there again, we'd booked 2 wks, with those heating costs it would have cost us another £322 on top of the cost of the cottage.
As I said, wonderful cottage, fully equiped, wonderful views, hot tub, friendly hosts but in the summer, far too costly for a winter stay.
It was a very cold few days and by keeping the log burner topped up we were able to stay warm but it was never cosily warm. The log burner doesn't stay in through the night and it was too expensive to run the electric heaters so each morning was chilly to say the least, and certainly not helped by the ill fitting back door, very (!) draughty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Cottage is located in a remote beautiful location but within easy access of Camarthen. Made to feel very welcome from the outset by Jeremy & Lynda.

The accommodation was well presented and well equipped - like home from home!

The only thing that let us down was the weather - but the kids loved the hot tub in the rain!

Would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Dont know what the person below is moaning about. Stayed here last weekend and what a surprise it was and at a great price. On arrival Jeremy comes and takes you to the cottage and even starts the fire for you, what more could you want. The location was perfect the view superb and remote. 2 Miles away is a little village called whitemill with a lovely little pub. Food is great WHATEVER YOU DO make sure you only order main as the portions are huge.
The cottage was lovely inside and had all that you needed, spacious well renovated and very clean. The hot tub was great as well perfect temperature and clearly had been cleaned recently. I will be going back in the summer loved it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llannon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Was lovely to get away from it all and this was a bit like stepping back in time, though all the mod cons were there.
Cottage was fine though you have to watch your head in places. Warm and cosy with great log burner.
Lovely but quirky surroundings. Set on Welsh hillside; in isolation but easy access to the many benefits that West Wales can offer. (Beaches, Horse racing, Golf, Walking, Great places to eat and drink. even theme parks for those that like that sort of thing.)
Take note of how to get there and concentrate when driving the last half mile down the lane through the field. (Rabbits/ Sheep and rough road) Felt very welcome and enjoyed the hands off approach of the hosts, who let you get on with it but there if you need them.
Only one who intruded was Casper the cat who must get fed by various guests, far more than is good for him.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

After a 7 hour motorbike ride it was great to get in the hot tub. Cottage grounds looked like a tip!(from the back of the cottage)
The front of the cottage views were fab.
The cottage was ok but in need of a make over I.e kitchin worktop was cracked around the hob,sink seal had shrunk back,toliet bowl was also cracked.
Apart from that we had a nice stay and relax which is what we wanted.
Had great neighbours next door to us.
Would we go back? No

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The good - Lovely location, handy for Carmarthen/Tenby etc, nice views over rolling hills, peace and quiet, Hot tub
The Bad - Accomodation was filthy. The living room, kitchen and sleeping area were thick with dust/dirt/grime, my first job upon arrival (prior to unpacking) was to hoover the living
room rug - not the best way to unwind after a 4 hr drive. Both the cot and cot matress provided were heavilly stained/soiled, I just thank God we took our own cot linen. But by far and away the 'piece de resistance' was the bedding on the double bed. It reeked of body odour, and if that wasn't enough, the smell was supplemented by an assortment of hair/fluff/dirt on the 'clean' sheets. Despite all this, I guess a hearty appology on the part of the host along with some swift correcting action would have gone a long way to alleviate extremely poor first impressions. Sadly, Linda did not share our view on the bedding, informing us that 'no-body else had complained'. After some dialogue Linda offered to wash the bedding and return it that evening, which she duly did.
--Electrical installation was dangerous, loose mains sockets in walls, exposed mains wiring joints covered with insulation tape.
--Large nails sticking up out of the wooden mezzanine floor
--Our neighbours had to cut back the thicket outside in order to safely access the hot tub

Summary

A shoddy renovation of a lovey old building, made worse by a general lack of maintenance / cleaning of the cottages and surrounding area. We were looking for a stress free break, sadly the first day was anything but. Deffinately not child friendly. Would not recommend to a friend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Beautiful, there's everything you need there and more, and a great local pub who does good homemade food.
In fact there's no point me telling you how wonderful it is... just go and find out for yourselves!

p.s. wish I was there now!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Cottage Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Cottage Holidays

Address: Whitemill, Carmarthen, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Carmarthen
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Rainbow Cottage Holidays Wales/Carmarthen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Cottage Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.