We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House Restaurant

Mansion House Restaurant
Llansteffan | Mansion House Llansteffan, Carmarthen SA33 5AJ,, Wales
01267 241515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 114 Restaurants in Carmarthen
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Took my mum here for a treat on her birthday, the food was excellent, staff were friendly couldn't do enough for us, lovely surroundings, would defiantly eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday lunch for all the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate at the Mansion House on Easter Sunday with 3 generations of family. It proved to be the perfect family choice for something a little more special from the warm welcome in the bar area when we arrived through to our departure. The set menu had 4 starters, one of the kids couldn't find a starter he liked, but the kitchen happily made up an alternative. 4 choices of mains, 3 roasts and fish, lots of vegetable accompaniments (not so sure about marrowfat peas as one of the options) through to an extensive desert list. The wine menu starts from a very reasonable price. Services was not hurried and very relaxed, although the young staff perhaps sometimes need a little direction, 1 solitary side plate remained through the whole meal (odd after the others were all collected after the starter). My only gripe would be to have linen napkins to match the linen on the table (paper napkins just don't do it). All in all a lovely relaxing lunch, well priced and enjoyed by everyone in our party.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality food in gorgeous location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited today for a family lunch. Food, service and ambience were perfect. The owners have been in charge for only a few months, but, my goodness - they certainly know what they're doing. If visitors to Carmarthenshire want a quality experience in a beautiful location then go no further than the Mansion House at Pantyrathro.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for a Business Meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently held a Business meeting at the Mansion House to entertain and present to local business people. What a superb venue. We were looked after well and David went out of his way to look after us and make sure the event went well. The lunch we received was excellent. If we ever need to hold a meeting in this area we would not hesitate to make they Mansion House our first point of call

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Ate here yesterday Mother's day. What a change to be able to dine in a relaxed setting and without the feeling of 'let's get as many as we can get in feeling' because of it being mother's day. The food was excellent and certainly not overpriced. The service was good and the young staff very pleasant and helpful. My two young grandchildren were made very welcomed and were accommodated to their needs. I know that it is under new owners and wish Dave and Wendy the best of luck in their new venture.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion House Restaurant also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Mansion House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.