We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Carmarthen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spilman Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Spilman Hotel to your Saves list
Spilman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Carmarthen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great little hotel right in the centre of town with parking and free (good) WIFI throughout the hotel, what more could you need??

Easily the best in the area, and I have been travelling to this area for work for over 5 years.

Room Tip: Personally I love the annex rooms 12-15(?) could be 16, great size modern and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    91
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
103
27
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This our 3rd visit to the Spilman over recent years and we were not disappointed. Good location right in the middle of Carmarthen with plenty of parking although tight access - but not a problem.
Clean, comfortable room with modern en suite. Free wifi and nice private bar area. Very comfy bed and a good night's sleep followed by a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lovely greeting and great help with parking the car. (I know for next time) Lovely room with tasteful decor and all mod cons. We enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep in a comfortable bed. breakfast was cooked to order and served by a charming young lady. What more could one ask for. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

i did an overnight stay at this hotel and right from the time i arrived to the time i left i received excellent and personalised service. I asked for a quieter room than the one i was allocated, and without any fuss at all, i was offered a quiet location in the building. they even sent my luggage on to the station in a taxi to ensure that i didnt miss my train.breakfast was excellent - fresh and well-presented. all in all, an excellent recommendation, i would go there again.

Room Tip: the rooms in the courtyard are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Spilman a couple of nights ago and I would recommend it to anyone. The rooms were extremely comfortable, lovely comfortable bed and very tasty breakfast. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and have paid a lot more then £60. This hotel is excellent value for money and is centrally located in the town of Carmarthen.

I would recommend it to anyone that like clean rooms and friendly welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Travelled up to Carmarthen to give a free presentation to a local voluntary group. I needed reasonably priced, for their sake. Happy to donate my time, but if the hotel is hugely pricey...what's the point? I booked the best deal I could find, a bit concerned (being a Londoner via New York) that it seemed so close to the station. Silly me!

Its postcard pretty convenient location (I could walk from the station and to my meeting), extremely welcoming staff and comfy room resulted in peaceful, restful and convenient stay. Would def go there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Lovely bright modern bedrooms and communal rooms in a central location. Loved the fact that breakfast was served to you by friendly staff. Only downside was the car park but there's not a lot the owners can do about that.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spilman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilman Hotel

Address: 36 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spilman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Hotel with 15 En-Suite rooms in a town centre location with free on site parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Spilman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilman Hotel Wales/Carmarthen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spilman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.