We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country pub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tempest Arms Restaurant

The Tempest Arms Restaurant
Elslack, Skipton bd23 3ay, England
+44 (0)1282 842450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 119 Restaurants in Skipton
Price range: $1 - $57
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charming country pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate lunch here on a Sunday afternoon in February. It was very busy, obviously a very popular place. We turned up around 3pm, there were a few tables available in the bar area.

The food service team were very friendy, the quality of the food was great and we found the portions a decent size to. We were fortunate enough to find a table by the open fire which added to the cosy charm and atmosphere of this great pub.

We would definetly visit again and would recommend to anybody wanting a lovely county pub meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your visit to The Tempest Arms! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us! I will certainly pass on your comments to our team! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    94
    27
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality pub food, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First impressions were it was a nice pub but very busy, this was about 5:30 on a Saturday. It took a while to get served at the bar.
The menus were huge, literally, I'm not sure why there were 2 as no one explained but there was a large selection.
I thought it was a bit over priced for pub food, £5.25 for a dish of olives and feta.
£12.95 for a main which didn't include veg.
The portions are massive however. The men liked this but I'd rather have paid less for a normal portion.
The food was good, everyone enjoyed their meals and the service was also good.
We had children in our party who were well catered for with the children's menu.
All in all good quality but a bit expensive. If trip advisor had an option between average and very good I would have chosen it but as they don't I'll go for very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for our review we are chuffed you enjoyed your visit, we do keep an eye on our prices and try at all times to offer the very best of value. This of course does come at a cost using local suppliers instead of bulk buying, staff training and of course the upkeep of the building. I am sure that you will agree that it really is good value.

Please do call again very soon! Till then all the very best from Team Tempest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Book ahead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Tempest Arms was recommended by our B&B Elslck Grange and wisely so. We ate on Sunday evening and you need to book ahead as the last sitting is at 7:30pm. We had short wait in the bar - the bar staff were friendly and helpful and let the restaurant know we had arrived. The table was situated in an extension overlooking the car park. There was an occasional draught from a roof vent but otherwise it was comfortable and well served by the waiting staff. The menu was varied and included a lot of locally produced dishes. We had been warned about the large portions and I had garlic pittas as a starter which were very tasty. My main was the chilli beef wrap which looked like a lasagne in an oval dish until you cut in and discovered the hidden tortilla. It was quite hot and so might not be to everyone's taste. My partner had the mixed grill which was well stocked! He managed to devour it but neither of us could manage a dessert. Prices were reasonable for good quality fare. We would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Any guest of Sally's at the Elslack Grange is a friend of ours! Thank you for taking the time to right such a positive review we are thrilled! next time you are passing do call in! CHEERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Tempest is just brill, such a treat away from home, especially if you book one of the rooms with a hot~tub!! book well ahead, as they get quite busy. The views are fabulous, the room lovely, and the hot~tub is certainly the best de~stresser I know of!!!!! The restaurant is just great too, with quite a varied menu, all good!! especially the lamb. The staff are really helpful and charming too. I can't wait to book again for another treat xx

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review we are chuffed you like us we like you too! Cheers and here is to the next time from us all at THE TEMPEST!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“No Sunday Roast!! However.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a table for 5.30 at the Tempest Arms on a Sunday, intending to have a Sunday roast on our trip back from the Lakes. Imagine our disappointment when on arrival we were advised by a very jovial waiter of a long list of dishes that were sold out! Including the usually outstanding Tempest Arms Sunday roast!

Gutted, we surveyed the menu with more than a hint of disappointment. We eventuially settled on a Meat and Potato pie and Toad in the Hole. When it arrived, all our disappointments faded away! Both meals were beautiful. Every bit as tasty and enjoyable as the roasts we have had previously. It was another excellent meal and the service again was top notch.

We certainly won't allow any future sold out Sunday roast to pre-judge our dining expectation next time!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Give us a call in advance and we wil save you some Roast of the day! But to be honest the chef has started doing more! So more great roasts for our guests!
Thank you for your glowing report and I am sure we will see you again!
From all at the Tempest CHEERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tempest Arms Restaurant also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Tempest Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tempest Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.