We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tempest Arms Restaurant

The Tempest Arms Restaurant
Elslack, Skipton bd23 3ay, England
+44 (0)1282 842450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 105 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $57
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed the night in a junior suite at the Tempest Arms for our silver wedding anniversary. The room was very well furnished with a small sitting area and beautiful views over the fields. There was tea and coffee in the room, flapjacks, sweets and a small box of chocolates.
We thought that as it was just after New year we would be the only ones dining there, we could'nt have been more wrong, the place was full all day and evening with a fabulous atmosphere, comfortable,with friendly and efficient staff. The menu was extensive and interesting. The food was very good, particulary the seafood plank, portions are on the huge side and we could have shared the starter and the plank. Overall we could'nt fault anypart of our stay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
WOW THANK YOU! Your review is superb! We are thrilled you had a lovely time it really gives us all a lift on these cold dark nights!

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Happy New Year from Martin, Veronica & the Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    109
    31
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Oh what a night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A group of us went to the Christmas Party night on the last Saturday before Christmas and from start to finish not one of us could fault the evening - the food and service was superb even with such large numbers and each course came out at good intervals -- atmosphere was great right throughout the night

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
THANK YOU Graham!! You have made our day! We love it when we get such a glowing report back about how much you enjoyed the Tempest! Christmas is such a pressured time and it is great to hear we got it right CHEERS! and all the best for the New Year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Love the food and atmosphere. Lamb Thingamybob is really quite yummy. A roaring fire makes it very pleasant on a winter evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Simon!
Thank you for your review I agree the Lamb shoulder is perhaps the best lamb dish in the area! Should I say allegedly! After that! But sheer sales say so! It is delicious though but so are many other dishes too! Cheers and a very merry & happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Another great meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

After yet another visit to this restaurant to celebrate a birthday, would have to say yet again this restaurant never fails to deliver. Had fantastic service and fabulous food. We have never after numerous occasions had a bad meal here and if you are thinking of visiting the Tempest, would definitely advise you book several weeks in advance. This is a very popular restaurant and would recommend a visit, it won't disappoint.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
THANK YOU KAREN WE WILL HAVE TO KEEP OUR SOCKS WELL PULLED UP!
We are really thrilled that all went well with your celebration and we look forward to seeing you in the New Year. It really is lovely to receive such positive reviews thank you once again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelbrook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So lucky to have a pub as fantastic as this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Tempest is our favourite spot for a guaranteed good night! Fantastic food, wonderful wine, amazing atmosphere and superb staff! We always leave with full tummies after a scrummy meal from the ever changing menu. The thing we love most of all is how much it feels like home, getting cosy next to the log fires and enjoying great hearty food - without the washing up! The staff are always polite, efficient and helpful - nothing is too much trouble! we're so lucky to have this Great British Pub on our doorstep.

Room Tip: If you can get a hot tub - it's so worth it!
See more room tips
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
THANK YOU SO MUCH for your glowing review, we are thrilled to pieces with your very kind review such complimentary words! Cheers and thank you !! We are a local Inn with a great deal to offer it is great that we have such a great following of locals and locals from far and wide! We do need to use our pubs and Inns as much as possible as they are dissapearing fast! THANK YOU and a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tempest Arms Restaurant also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Tempest Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tempest Arms Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.