We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best curry in skipton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Grill

Spice Grill
4 Unicorn House | Devonshire Place, Keighley Road, Skipton BD23 2LP, England
01756-22-80-86
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 105 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://www.yell.com/s/indian+restaurants-skipton.html number 3 on this list. It used to be the Agraah, but this has moved and The Spice Grill is now in it's place and very good tooo!
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best curry in skipton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and i have been to this restaurant several times and apart from one occasion when the main course was incorrect and very satisfactorily solved by the management it is by far the best curry house in skipton. We took our friends on Wednesday night from Birmingham who are curry fanatics and thought the curry excellent.. Service and food excellent. Thankyou to the staff for not disappointing us we will be back soon. Mel and Chris.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    12
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great curry , great value !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

An absolute find. One of the best curries I have had for a long time. great atmosphere and attentive staff. Amazing food. Not licensed so you bring your own beer/wine etc. Great value, I have eaten here several times with consistent quality. Highly recommended .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Nice little curry house. Don't expect anything more than a good standard curry, but if that's what you are after this is unlikely to disappoint. Been a number of times and quality is always good. Friendly staff and cheap 5-course weekday menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Mid-week tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I went to the Spice Grill for a quick cheap tea, so opted for the 5 course set menu priced at £8.95. 2 popadums and pickel tray, any starter apart from fish, we chose the stuffed pepper, which was excellent. Main course, any off the menu but no fish, not a problem, we both had a chicken curry with 1 rice and 1 naan bread, again both excellent. Then sweets and coffee and mints. Our bill came to £23+ no drinks its a take your own place. We did query the bill as we had totalled it to £17.90, the reason we were told is because rice and naan bread are classed as a separate course so in all we paid extra for the sweets. No problem for us we paid it willingly and left a heafty tip, but it is worth knowing if you dont really fancy a sweet dont have it, because its not really included. We will be going back again as we think its one of Skiptons best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not just your average curry house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The restaurant is down a small side street so you might not find it without checking out its location before you set off, but by heck its so worthwhile doing so.
We've now eaten here several times since we found the restaurant this winter. The standard of food is excellent although the menu is not as extensive as some of the bigger and well known curry houses, we have yet to be disappointed with the consistency of quality here. The staff are great too, always a good welcome from them and they are so nice to chat to . Taking your own drink means the final bill is not going to hit your pocket hard.
Can only think of one downside point, and that is the decor is a bit on the dowdy side........

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Grill also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Spice Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.