We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, cheap afternoon activity! well worth a go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skipton Boat Trips

Skipton Boat Trips
Coach Street, | Wharf Office, Waterside Court, Skipton BD23 1LH, England
01756 790829
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 things to do in Skipton
Attraction details
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“fantastic, cheap afternoon activity! well worth a go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

cheap canal trip with a comedian commentary,
it passed away a very relaxing but entertaining afternoon in Skipton and provides some history to the town!
extremely reasonable price and well worth a visit if you have an hour spare in Skipton

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    14
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable hour on historic waterway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

You can't visit Skipton and ignore the fact that it's a major stopping point on the Leeds & Liverpool Canal. There's a picturesque canal basin with a multitude of narrowboats, attractive floral displays, scavenging ducks, etc. A lovely bright sunny day (and the promise of a recorded commentary by Dave Spikey) made our decision to choose a trip with Pennine Boats an easy one. We drifted along to the putt-putt-putt of the engine, learned quite a bit about the history of the area and the old mill buildings alongside, and were surprised to find ourselves above street level for part of the journey. Coffee, tea, soft drinks, beer and cider are on sale, and served to your seat by cheerful and helpful staff. Overall good value for money, but mind the midges!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Slow down a little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent an hour pottering up the canal. Good tour guide shame we could not experience a lock. Good value and we even collided with another boat. A gentle bump but the kids thought it was great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A grand day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our group of 9 spanning three generations had a fab day on our boat 'Bedale' which we hired for the day to celebrate Dad's 70th birthday. The children are aged between 6-15, all strong swimmers so we weren't terrified of them falling in, although we kept a close eye on them of course.

It was great to have a little kitchen area with stove, fridge, sink. Handy to have a toilet too! We had cups of tea on the go and put all our cans of lemonade, coke and our picnic in the fridge. We didn't bother making sandwiches - as we were going to be leisurely cruising along we brought cold meat, a small salad bowl, rolls, crudites & dips, crisps, fruit and two birthday cakes (great minds think alike!) At lunchtime having moored up, we all sat around the table, chatting and tucking in. It was really lovely. Remember to take some bread for the ducks and swans. They (especially the swans) are quite persistent and they seem to know when lunch is served! It was fun feeding them.

The kids loved helping to drive the boat which they were very proficient at and loved to jump off the boat to help turn the swing bridges. There are no locks on this stretch of the Leeds Liverpool canal and that is the reason we chose this company.

They all loved to wave at people on other boats or on the canal. It was a friendly and relaxing day and we all have lovely memories of Dad's birthday to take away with us.

If I did it again (and I definitely would consider hiring a boat again), I would pack an extra tea-towel (one was provided) and kitchen roll.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

couldn't hear commentary, had a loud lady sitting behind me. Yes dear, you know who I'm talking about.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipton Boat Trips also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Skipton Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skipton Boat Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.