We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Town House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Town House to your Saves list
The Town House
Birtwhistle's Yard | Devonshire Place, Skipton BD23 2LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 Skipton B&B and Inns
Wakefield
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Town House is right next to the bus station in Skipton and is ideally located for people like us who don't drive. We did get off to a slightly tricky start in that we arrived to find no one home and, having rung the owner's mobile number, found out he was driving home and would be about 15 minutes or so. It wouldn't have been too much of an issue except the were shivering in the icy and unseasonably snowy blasts of March in North Yorkshire and were not in great humour when he arrived. That said, we found a friendly welcome and a pleasant, bijou room up in the eaves, complete with dormer window and the distinct danger of concussion on the sloping ceiling for anyone taller than us - if you are a strapping six foot plus, do beware of room 5! The room itself was spotlessly clean and tidy and decorated in a simple but attractive way. it's a surprise to find an en suite bathroom with an actual bath in it these days, sadly the shower attachment is the same one we have at home and we know, to our cost, doesn't work well with low water pressure. If you love a soak in the bath instead, however, you will be very happy. We also couldn't get the fan heater in the bathroom to work though the light came on. maybe we had just not figured it out. in any case, it didn't especially matter as the room was not that cool. Although the house is in a yard behind a pub and club, we found we had a reasonably quiet night aside from a couple of cats having a scrap outside at about 2am! Not much one can do about that as cats don't respond to an ASBO. Breakfast was great and our host had made porridge at our request though we guessed from his surprised expression not many folk opt for it rather than the traditional cooked breakfast. We would certainly stay again. It's clean, quiet and sensibly priced. Those with a mobility problem would need to request a ground floor room as there are a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
24
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here with my 8 year old son in October. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped.

We had to be up and away early in the morning and the owner prepared a cooked breakfast for us at 0700 on a Saturday morning - exceeded our expectations.

If we are ever in Skipton again we will be back.

Also had a nice meal at Brodie's

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm C, Owner at The Town House, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, as did many of our great guests. It has been a fantastic start for us meeting loads of great people and making many new friends. We are looking forward to the future and welcoming many more just like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Although situated just round the corner from the market it is in a very quiet position off the main road and we got no noise from traffic or people. Clean comfortable rooms,originally was 2 or 3 separate houses each still having its own entrance so had to go outside to get into restaurant but we did not find this a problem. Very good full English breakfast, plenty of choice of cereal and fruit. Private car parking and extra bonus was we're able to leave our cars there before we checked in and after we had checked out. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Perfect for a weekend or short break
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

just got back from skipton having gone for the xmas market, thank you mick for rescuing us, as we had trouble finding you. very pleasent/ friendly. just a few minor things but it makes a big difference, as first impressions count, just the entrance needs a good brush, clean up,a few plants would make a big difference. no lamp shades, and the bedding should be ironed. saying that the room was lovely and warm, beds very comfy, lovely shower room nice and warm just what you need when you been out shopping all day .breakfast was ok but no cornflakes, i think it would be better to have quailty instead of quantity. but for the price hey, not bad at all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from the Town House booked for the Christmas Market it was a lovely weekend and the Town House made it special , whilst the outside front entrance doesn`t look appealing inside was a gem We had a lovely family room at no extra cost, very clean and warm. The breakfast was lovely any very filling didn`t need to think of food till later on. The Town House is well placed for the town centre, has a good car park, and the host Mick very pleasant. I would recommend this B & B for its position, breakfast, cleanliness and position to town centre- Give it a go

Room Tip: Our room was No 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having stayed all over the country in b&b,s i certainly dont think it is the worst or best i,ve stayed in the room was basic with a lack of finishing touches and work not finished or bodged,the owner was certainly very friendly and no complaints on that score but he certainly needs to brush up on a his cooking skills,a full english breakfast doesent constitute a vegi sausage a slice of bacon a mushroom a tomato and a thimble full of beans in my lifetime now if the room was cheap i would expect that type of breakfast but at £60 per night i dont think it is cheap,having said all that i wish the man all the best as he is friendly but i fear he should go the extra mile when customers are arriving at such an uninviting building also dont advertise sky if it really is free view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Townhouse, and it was wonderful as always. It is bang in the centre of town - but still out of the way enough to be very quiet. You just walk up a little "ginnel" and you are in Skipton town centre. They have excellent parking facilities too. Not really much I need to say about the Town house because everything is perfect.... definitely the cleanest place I have EVER stayed, and the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast bang on the money too. Ignore the bad review - how can someone review a place that they didn't actually stay at?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Address: Birtwhistle's Yard | Devonshire Place, Skipton BD23 2LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property has recently been re-furbished and offers bright, clean airy accommodation at a good level of quality for an affordable price. We have tried to include everything the discerning business user, day-tripper or holiday-maker might like and expect in a modern B & B. All rooms are en-suite and feature the following; TV, Sky with all channels including Sports, Movies and HD, DVD player, free movie hire (subject to a refundable deposit), FREE Wi-Fi, a welcome tray with tea and coffee facilities, additional seating, hair dryer, complimentary shampoos and shower gels. Iron and ironing board are available on request. For the hikers amongst you we have packs of walk guide cards available for free hire (subject to a refundable deposit.) We now have two family rooms for up to 4 people (1 x double and 2 x single) and up to 3 people (1 x double and 1 x single) respectively. Outside there is a free, private car park to the rear. We are 60 yards from the bus station, 60 yards from the main high street and less than half a mile form the train station. All in all you get everything you need in a friendly relaxed atmosphere and a prime location for a great price. Why not come along and find out why so many people are returning to see us time and time again? We hope you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Skipton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.