We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woolly Sheep Inn

Save Saved
You added The Woolly Sheep Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woolly Sheep Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   38 Sheep Street, Skipton BD23 1HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Skipton B&B and Inns
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

called in on a windy wet afternoon, lovely warm welcome, very friendly staff. Was only going to have one drink but ended up staying for three! Will definitely go back there. Lovely olde World pub, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for that nice review, our snug can have that effect on people, so warm and cosy that you never want to move :) we hope you get a chance to call in again and stay for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    52
    19
    13
    5
See reviews for
27
134
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you want a pretentious 'boutique' hotel or cheap and cheerful Travel Lodge this probably isn't for you. However, if you want a good room in an excellent market town inn, with excellent food and drink then try The Wooly Sheep. Location on the corner of the high street is perfect with a secure car park to the rear. Our superior room was spacious and well equipped with a good bathroom.
This is a Timothy Taylor's house with all of their five excellent ales available rather than just the ubiquitous Landlord. Breakfast menu included in the room price had plenty of choice and made with good quality local,produce. The lunch and dinner menu included a lot of pub favourites as well as more imaginative specials. Service was extremely friendly and helpful, right from pre visit email queries through check in, bar, restaurant and check out.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread over the first and second floors. Apparently first floor rooms can pick up noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your very complete and informative review! It seems as though you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we're pleased that we were able to give you a really great customer experience - from start to finish. Having all 5 Timothy Taylor's beers available all year round is a real bonus for us, people seem to come back to drink our beer again and again and we take a lot of pride in it. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If visiting Skipton you may want to sample a decent Yorkshire pub.
They serve good Yorkshire beer with a reasonable food menu if you feel hungry served in a clean comfortable bar area.
This establishment also has rooms to book if you would like to stay over,but be warned book well in advance as the pub is very popular.
You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review :) we hope it encourages other people to give us a try in the future, and that you will both visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with the Mrs and the in-laws. Me and my father-in-law sampled the beers while the girls went shopping and it was lovely and relaxing in the front bar and we had nice comfy seats. The service was really good then we all had lunch in there which was very nice. We were in room 3 & 4 which are small and quaint. The toilet cistern in 3 is noisy and also the fan in the bathroom in 4 which will get on yer nerves eventually. Really like the feel of the Hotel and we all enjoyed the breakfast on the morning, which is more than ample. We also tried the local Balti House in Skipton on Saturday night which was really nice with good service. The girls in the family are all returning to stay in the Woolly Sheep for the Christmas Market and I would defo return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're glad we were able to provide you with great customer service and that you and your family were able to enjoy a lovely stay together! We're so busy over the Christmas period, I'm pleased that the ladies were able to book in with us again, especially for the Christmas markets which are such a great day out. We hope to see the rest of you again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

decided to have lunch here but what we had was nearly a three course dinner in amount of food and value for money we had a doorstop wedge fish buttie and a spicy Yorkshire chicken sandwich which came with dripping chips yummy and an extra of soup which was lovely and drinks and it came to £18 which we thought was very reasonable for the amount of food will def visit again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We have a bit of our reputation for our huge door stop sandwiches, and with chips or salad included, we think makes for a very satisfying and good value lunch, especially when adding a little pan of our delicious homemade soup. We hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Decided to have a meal here as we were attracted by the beer and the menu looked interesting. Sadly we were disappointed - beer was a bit too cold, the décor looked attractive but the seats we sat on in the lounge were lacking in padding. Although the service for the meal was fine, the food arrived lukewarm (although the plates were hot). There was no problem with returning them and they were hot!, but the cabbage to go with my belly pork was missing. But again speedily rectified. Taste was good - but the crackling was too hard and cracked a filling. What a shame!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
First of all let me apologise for the problems you experienced. Our beer is kept to a very high standard, and had been recently assessed and awarded a certificate of excellence by Cask Marque. equally we receive a lot of compliments on our cosy little snug at the front of the pub, but cushions are provided if extra support is needed. I'm glad to hear that our staff acted quickly and efficiently when you experienced dissatisfaction with your meal. We hope that you will visit again and leave satisfied that your previous visit was just a one off. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a golf trip for two nights having read contrasting reviews. I've got to say, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Would I bring the wife and kids for a family holiday? No. It's not that sort of place. But for a business or leisure trip, great ambience, superb beers, excellent service, fantastic food and good value - we'll be back.

And by the way, if Skipton Golf Club isn't the friendliest club going, I'd like to know where is!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraFord23, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your concise review, unfortunately one of the quirks of older buildings is theres a few nooks and crannies! We like to think of them as being cosy, and generally it all adds to the charm of staying in a traditional old inn like The Woolly Sheep. Our staff love going the extra mile for customers, and our Assistant Manager Andrea, who you mentioned in your review, will always work hard to provide the best experience, it's great that you picked up on it :) thank you again for your lovely review, we hope to see you again - with friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Woolly Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolly Sheep Inn

Address: 38 Sheep Street, Skipton BD23 1HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolly Sheep Inn 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Woolly Sheep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolly Sheep Hotel Skipton
The Woolly Sheep Inn Skipton, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woolly Sheep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.