We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gem of huntingdon high street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alex's Cafe Restaurant

Alex's Cafe Restaurant
25 High Street, Huntingdon pe293ta, England (Formerly Pop Bellies)
01480357575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Cuisines: American, English, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The gem of huntingdon high street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

There aren't a lot of places to sit and eat lunch in huntingdon so when a friend introduced me to pot bellies I was really pleased! It's a lovely little place that sells a variety of yummy and interesting foods, catering for many tastes. It server spicy Mexican and Cajun dishes as well as nice and simple sandwiches and baguettes. The hot chocolate here is also amazing and I go in just for that too! Prices are reasonable for the quality of the food you get and it's a nice atmosphere in a cosy and quirky space. Thumbs up from me!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    52
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Some friends were down from Scotland again, so we arranged to meet up here, as we have done before.

Fabulous meals once again, and I mean fabulous, beautifully cooked and presented, and as ever the staff efficient, and up for a giggle and some banter, which just makes for a totally relaxed and enjoyable experience.

If we were nearer, we would be frequent patrons, because this has to be one of Huntingdon's little gems.

Thank you Pop Bellies, we will see you again in March.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have eaten at Pop Bellies twice before and have enjoyed it both times. The food is excellent as is the service.
The layout of the restaurant allows for an intimate dining experience. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to all!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had an office night out before Christmas. The place was quite empty but the welcome was warm and staff were extremely friendly and obliging. Traditional Christmas 3 course meal which was plentiful and tasty-could not fault the quality or the service. This little place deserves more patronage for evening meals as it is a little gem.Will definately return again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great food, fair prices. Everything we tried was very tasty, fresh and well prepared. The staff was pleasant and cordial. If you are looking for a no frills, delicious meal that tickles your tastebuds, this is the place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex's Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 

Been to Alex's Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alex's Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.