We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky & with Character ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Street, Huntingdon PE29 3AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quirky & with Character ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent one night, had a good nights sleep in the comfy four poster bed. Large airy 'Old English' style room. Clean, not modern, but in keeping with the style & age of the building. Staff friendly & helpful. Bustling bar area. Good variety of cooked breakfast with very fresh fruit and pastries. Would return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am proud of my team here at the George and glade to hear that they looked after you well.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    39
    27
    17
See reviews for
29
87
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
egham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hi .. i stayed at this hotel on the 28th June and what a lovely experience .. Leo the duty manager and all of the staff were so helpful , nothing was a problem .. the hotel had so much character and spoke to a few of the very friendly guests at the bar .
I will be using this hotel again and i recommend this hotel to anyone .

Thank you Leo and the time for a great stay .

Steve ( room 14 )

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had our daughters wedding reception at the George Hotel on 31st May and it was a great success. Teresa a and Richard thank you for making the day amazing. From the time we arrived the service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble. Even when we had to hold the meal as the bride was unwell Teresa came to the rescue again. I can't thank you enough. Everyone commented on how good the food was, everything was hot and really tasty. The evening buffet went down well too. The bride and groom stayed in the bridal suite which was beautifully furnished. We stayed on the top floor and had a really lovely large room that overlooked the town,
Thanks again to the staff at the George got helping to make my daughters day perfect. Will be back at Christmas for my works party and looking forward to it

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are glad that Laura and Wesley enjoyed there day. The team and I really enjoyed working there special day, your guests were so nice. I
am very proud of Therese and how she has grown into her new role at the George.
It will be great to see you at Christmas and we hope you have a lovely summer.

Kind regards
Jason Chappell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Looked a good venue, but average meal.
Had run out of what I ordered, and my second option, so not great on that basis as burgers are fridge/freezer staples.
Also, gin had run out, so had to wait for measure to be delivered.
Waitress forgot to charge for olives, and came with change for lower price, third choice meal, and missing gin, and asked for money for olives. We thought it would have been good customer service to have waive this charge for a few olives.
Food OK (chips good), but hardly huge portions. Adequate for a lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I send my apologies for running out of a key item like Burgers, I have already spoken to the chef and upped our holding stock so that shouldn’t happen again. I am a little confused with your comment about running out of Gin as we sell 4 types of Gin and we always have a good amount in stock. I hope that your visit has not put you off the George and will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My daughter was in hospital round the corner, I nipped out for a meal. I ordered Pate and the Hunters Chicken. The pate was literally the smallest portion I had ever seen. Literally it would not have covered a quarter of a slice of bread. The chicken was tough, the bacon on top was pure fat and it was just inedible. It was so bad I just bought a bag of crisps and left! In fairness the waitress noticed I had left the meal and asked was ok, I did say it was awful. The manager came out, he gave me a refund just on the chicken and said no one had complained before. Sorry - it was so bad I simply could not believe it.

To me its a place to avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
First of all I would like to apologise that your food was not to your liking. The Hunters chicken is a very good selling dish and when you were not happy with your food I was happy to refund you as you explained what the issue was and we like our guest to walk away happy. The pate is a per-portioned item off our menu so I will feed your comments to the relevant person at our head office. As you did not comment I was only dealing with the issue you brought up. Once again I do apologise that the quality of your food was not up to the standards you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed at the George Inn for a couple of nights over the bank holiday weekend. The room was nice and clean and looked like it had been recently referbished. Although parts of the hotel looked tired, it was still a welcoming environment. We ate in the hotel for one of the evenings, and there was a nice variety of resonably priced food available. The only downside was the attidtude of the waitress serving that evening, although polite, we were made to feel that asking for anything extra was an inconvinience - both at the bar and in the dining room, and felt this was the case for the other customers, which was just a bit disappointing. All in all though this was a pleasant break and we would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we at the George are glad you enjoyed your visit. I do apologise that my teams attitude let it down. We carry out a lot of team training and have monthly team meeting so I will bring your comments up at the next ones we have. Thank you again for taking the time to put your comments online and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Back again to one of our favourite Old English Inns. This time I booked through the central booking line instead of direct with The George. I asked for first floor because my husband suffers from some mobility problems. The lady on the phone said there was a function on that weekend so would put us away from the noise. When we arrived our room 14 involved a further set of stairs and a long walk for my husband and not handy with the dog also. There was no function on so in future I will book direct with hotel. Previously our best two rooms were on the first floor one overlooking the courtyard and one overlooking the road.
Room 14 was very quiet on the Friday night as few guests in our part of hotel, Saturday was a little noisier but not unacceptable. The weather was very hot but our room overlooking the car park stayed cool with the window open. The room was very clean and bed very comfy, bathroom also good and shower fine. Wifi didn't work in room 14 but no problem as we were able to download our newspaper in the lounge.
We ate in the restaurant the first night and in the bar the second, food reasonably priced but not as good as previous visits. Breakfast good.
Staff really helpful, our dog was made welcome. Everyone seemed to be dog lovers last weekend I don't think our dog has ever had so much attention!

Room Tip: Best rooms for convenience are 1-8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I am sorry to hear that the central reservations team did not pass the information about your husband on. I would suggest a call to the hotel even if you book with the head office team. We can them make sure you are allocated to the correct room. I was glad to see that you did not let the room allocation spoil your weekend at the hotel. My team and I are all animal lovers so it’s great to meet them when they stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: George Street, Huntingdon PE29 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stuart Hotel dating from 1510, once owned by Oliver Cromwell's grandfather, with picturesque galleried courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Huntingdon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.