We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thrapston Road, | Brampton, Huntingdon PE28 4NL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Somerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is the second time that we are here and I am writing this staying there now. Really lovely hotel, spacious clean, lovely rooms, really well appointed. The whole feel of the place is so nice.
Would recommend everyone to come. The standard is set high.
We are eating here tonight and judging by the breakfast we hope it will be good.
If only more hotels were like this....it would really make you want to come away.

Room Tip: All rooms are good,. We have slept only at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us, I am very pleased to read that you are, and have enjoyed your stays with us.

Thank you for your recommendation, I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    49
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
36
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed in many HI's throughout the Uk and a few in Europe. This is one of the best I have come across so far. Probably aided by the fact it only opened in September 2013. It is obviously well decorated, clean and well laid-out. The staff are excellent, from check-in to the bar and restaurant (we needed a quick evening meal before going out, but it wasn't slap-dash food).

We stayed in a room facing the race-course and found this exceptionally quiet (only 17 days racing per year). Rooms on the other side face towards the A14 but this is at some distance and over a field, guessing sound insulation is good. Rooms have aircon, a must on one of the warmest days of the year.

Plenty of FREE car parking - even enough space for a HGV with the Tour de France to have parking space!

Conveniently located just off the A1 and minutes from the A14.

I/we will certainly be using it again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, I was pleased to read that your stay was an enjoyable one, and the team were welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPSHIRE UK
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed for one night, based on Trip Advisor reviews. Upgraded as a Platinum member. Executive room first class with view of the racecourse. Friendly and efficient reception.

Plentiful free parking.

Food arrangements are flexible, either in the restaurant or large open bar space. Food of good quality.
Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read we were able to upgrade your reservation to one of our Executive rooms as one of our valued IHG Reward Club members, also that you found the team friendly.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here 27-29 June during our annual car club event. Really nice place, very new, believe it only opened last October. Loved the open plan design downstairs, this makes it really spacious and airy. Bedroom was excellent, and the bed really comfortable, rooms have aircon, TV, internet, and all the other usual extras. Food in the restaurant was really good, if a tad pricey. Recommend their fish and chips!
Hotel provided security for our cars which was good, and the bar is open as long as required, so often I have been to hotels where the bar shuts around 1130 or midnight.
There is a gym available, I used it during my stay, has a treadmill, bike, free weights etc, but as it is quite small, if there were more than, say 6 at any one time, would be a tad cramped. Lucky for me I appeared to be the only fitness freak each day so had the place to my self!

Room Tip: If you can choose, ask for a room overlooking the race course, nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I was pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations. The hotel did only open at the end of September last year, and therefore feedback is very important to us, as we want to ensure the service we provide is of a high standard for all our guests.

I do hope that if your travel plans bring you back to the area, you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a new hotel which is very fresh and bright. The public areas and rooms are very clean and there is a nice patio for sitting out in good weather. It is easily accessible with electric doors and as I am a wheelchair user this was extremely good for me. The one let down in my opinion is the reception. On arrival we were told that the wheelchair accessible room on the ground floor was already occupied but there was another one on the first floor very near to the lift. Despite having booked this ground floor room in December and checked its availability two weeks before travel it was not available. I cannot understand why wheelchair accessible rooms are on upper floors - how does one get down in an emergency situation when you can't use the lift? However five minutes after we got to the room there was a knock in the door to say the ground floor room was available after all - seemed a bit strange to me. The safe in our room was not working despite following the instructions on the door. It was reported to reception and an assurance was given that it would be looked at. I am still waiting - very poor to my mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I was pleased to read that you found the hotel fresh and bright, and easily accessible.

We have two accessible rooms, my apologies that you were reserved the first floor room, when your preference is a ground floor room. Due to your conversation with our reception team reservations were moved to accommodate your request for a ground floor assessable room.

The hotel is fitted with two evacuation chairs, located on the first floor and the team are fully trained in there use. Should the hotel experience a full evacuation our fire plan includes the evacuation of guests requiring assistance. My apologies we were unable to fix your in room safe immediately, due to a fault that required further investigation.

Should you visit the area again, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a very good overnight stay here whilst attending our niece's wedding. As mentioned by previous guests, the staff on Reception were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful and courteous. Our room was spacious and very clean with pleasant and relaxing decor; all the facilities we needed and a fabulous shower!

Unfortunately, the staff on duty in the restaurant/breakfast area were somewhat slow with the service and although we had been asked what we would like to drink when we arrived, we were half way through our meal before we were able to catch the eye of someone and ask what had happened to our coffee. Having just read a previous review, I note that we were not the only ones to have experienced such a delay, and perhaps as suggested the breakfast 'welcomer' taking the coffee/tea order needs a better method to ensure everyone is served efficiently. I am afraid it does detract a little overall, from the excellent service we had received from the 'front of house' and the very pleasant, comfortable and well appointed room we had. However, we would still chose the hotel for another stay if we happened to be in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, also that our reception team were excellent. Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience within our restaurant, my apologies for any inconvenience. Our Food and Beverage Manager is working with her team to ensure that the service we provide within the restaurant is of a consistent high standard.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

...another fantastic, value for money, hassle free visit to this gem of a hotel.

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed it and it is extremely difficult to fault. Advance booking rates including breakfast are ridiculously hard to beat. Rooms are clean, spacious and modern and staff couldn't be more friendly or accommodating. Customer service and satisfaction is a definite skill and staff here have mastered it.

The hotel is clearly getting more popular - noticeably busier than our previous visits - but this has had no impact on the enjoyment of our visit - we have heard no noise from other rooms or corridors.

The only disappointment I have about the quality of this hotel, is that despite looking to book for our next visit at the end of July over a month ago, it is completely booked already...word is clearly spreading!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to my team.

Should you wish to contact the hotel directly we can take a note of the date you are looking for at the end of July and call you back, if a room becomes available. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse

Address: Thrapston Road, | Brampton, Huntingdon PE28 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon – Racecourse, overlooking the scenic racecourse.Holiday Inn Huntingdon – Racecourse is the perfect location to stay whether you’re working or travelling for fun. Hinchingbrooke Business Park and the historic Hinchingbrooke House are close by. Cambridge City Centre is easily reached should you need to visit for business or to enjoy a day exploring the many colleges or shopping in the Grand Arcade.Holiday Inn value and comfort come as standard with our 98 stylish and spacious air conditioned bedrooms all with complimentary internet access. Get the chance to discover our revolutionary Open Lobby concept, a place where you can eat, drink, meet and work; really wind down and have fun. It’s about being able to do what you want when you want.You’ll love our all day dining menu or just grab a Starbucks latte and breakfast to go or a midnight snack after a long day. With Wi-Fi available throughout the space you can stay connected.We also have three dedicated meeting rooms located on the 1st floor with services to ensure you have everything you need for a smooth meeting or social gathering. Take time out in the Mini Gym so you can keep up with your fitness programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.