We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thrapston Road, | Brampton, Huntingdon PE28 4NL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our second home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I am writing this review following our second visit to this hotel in April (our first being in February) and it certainly won't be our last.
The hotel is still very new and rooms and communal areas always look immaculate. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the price of room with breakfast is exceptionally good if you book early enough (although it appears to have risen whilst I have been looking to book our next stay!)
Rooms are clean, bright and spacious with good views of the racecourse if you're interested. Bathroom is a very good size, very nicely decorated and the shower is great. The only downsides I can pick out from both our stays here are nit picking really: firstly, the iron and hair dryer appear to have been skimped on in terms of their quality and therefore their effectiveness, and secondly, housekeeping staff are a little keen to get into your room in the morning if you have not displayed your 'do not disturb' sign!

Overall a fantastically priced hotel that is well worth a try if you are in the area - we shall most definitely be using it again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your second stay with us, I was pleased to read your positive comments regarding the hotel and our team. I have discussed your comments with my Housekeeping Manager regarding our housekeeping staff, to ensure they are more aware of guests who are still sleeping or just taking their time in the morning, my apologies for disturbing you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    49
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
36
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Holiday Inn Huntingdon
Stayed here mid-April, staff very good, friendly, and willing to help at all times.
Breakfast very good something for everyone and sufficient, open foyer and bar, drinks a little dear but normal for most hotels.
Excellent views over the racecourse, quiet and within easy reach of Cambridge.
All in all not a lot to say but would I go back, yes very much I can recommend it to all travellers.

Room Tip: pick upper floor for best views over the racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, I was pleased to read that the team were welcoming, and that the hotel met your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, should your travel plans bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Recent away break for 5 nights with my two daughters while visiting Cambridge and surrounding areas, the room booked being a double with sofa bed.,The hotel and room were immaculate, the room did not feel restricted despite the very well proportioned sofa bed which when opened up was almost double bed size.The bathroom spacious , ultra modern and spotless, power shower excellent and also with option of good size bath. A useful little feature being a courtesy light positioned close to the bathroom floor which helped in the dark when negotiating the way without disturbing other sleepers. Super wall hung tv with plenty of viewing options, also useful free wifi which was very much appreciated by my teenage daughter. Although we did not use the restaurant facilities in the evening the breakfast was plentiful and varied and the staff were only too happy to refill and provide any options we required even though most mornings we ambled down to breakfast towards the latter end of serving times. Holiday Inn staff members all very polite and courteous. and made us feel very welcome. Parking was secure and ample .The view from the dining area was pleasant and rural although close to nearby A roads, no road noise could be heard and in fact when the summer folieage is in bloom I do not think it would be even visable . The only suggestion I would make if any, is perhaps the gardens leading from the dining area could be made more of a feature, it is a beautiful space and would benefit from some landscaping as it could look stunning..Thank you Holiday Inn we really enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a business or leisure break.i

Room Tip: Our room was standard double with sofa bed, sofa bed is very generous and will accommodate tall adu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I was pleased to read that you and your daughters enjoyed your stay with us. Landscaping to the rear of the hotel is planned for this month, which will include a large herb garden, hopefully on your next visit you will see the work we have completed to improve the look of our gardens.

Once again thank you for your feedback and your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Came down from Manchester for the Bank Holiday Racing Meeting, could not have chosen a better hotel for this event, on the course. Check in excellent, staff excellent and friendly. Out room overlooking the course perfect, clean and lovely crisp white bedding, wardrobe space a bit small though. Liked the idea of a night light which remains on in bathroom during the night, ideal to stop waking each other up with bright lights! Had the B/B/evening meal package, breakfast was lovely lots of choice, but evening meal was a poor selection of the main meal, as we did three nights we ended up with the same meal every night as the choice was poor. I asked if I could substitute a meal of the main menu and pay extra no chance. Think this was a bad move on Hotel. Also staff or lack of in dining room, Good Friday/Easter Saturday evening was very busy with a party in as well as guest and other clients dining, and there was only two members of staff on duty and they had to run the bar as well. Felt sorry for them in the end missed out on our deserts as could not wait any longer. And on Sat. Night only one young guy on! To,cover bar/food. And told only one chef so a long wait all night, not good enough, restaurants need staff. But full marks to the two young ones who had to cover this, they remained polite all night, felt sorry for them.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read our location and views suited your requirements. Your constructive feedback is welcome regarding all aspects of your stay.

I will be reviewing our inclusive menu at the end of the month when our new All Day Dining menu is introduced. My apologies for any inconvenience during dinner due to the service, I have discussed your comments with our Food and Beverage Manager who will take steps to ensure a similar situation will not happen again.

I do hope that if your travel plans bring you back to the area, perhaps when attending another race meet, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a really simple review to write: This is a fantastic nice new hotel. It is easy to find, has good, secure parking and the staff were every polite and friendly.

The room was large with a very big bed. The linen was clean, fresh and crisp. The bathroom was well set out and had a large powerful shower. The room was spacious, clean, bright and scrupulously clean.

The price we paid was fantastic and was very cheap for such a nice hotel. We had a really pleasant night and would without hesitation happily recommend this hotel to others. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback received as it assisted us in improving us service and product, however it is always great for the team to receive positive comments such as yours.

Thank you also for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a last minute booking a couple of days ago. The check in was quick and painless. There wasn't an upgrade available but it was a nice room anyway.

The food was at a standard you would expect from a Holiday Inn but the "tuck shop" is a fantastic idea. Bottles of water or coke to buy instead of having to take glasses back to the room.

I will stay here again as this hotel in my opinion knocks spots of the Marriott I stayed at previously.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review on your experience whilst with us. I was pleased to read your positive review, as a new hotel we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at The HI in Huntingdon for two nights while visiting friends locally. The reception staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly (thanks for your help Maggi). The room was clean, warm and comfortable with a nice view of the racecourse. The hotel is brand new and provides a relaxing sitting area, an efficient bar and tasty casual dining. Overall the hotel provided excellent value for money and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 328 overlooks the racecourse and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting your friends, and for your very positive comments regarding the reception team. I will ensure Maggie is aware of your kind review. I was also pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse

Address: Thrapston Road, | Brampton, Huntingdon PE28 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon – Racecourse, overlooking the scenic racecourse.Holiday Inn Huntingdon – Racecourse is the perfect location to stay whether you’re working or travelling for fun. Hinchingbrooke Business Park and the historic Hinchingbrooke House are close by. Cambridge City Centre is easily reached should you need to visit for business or to enjoy a day exploring the many colleges or shopping in the Grand Arcade.Holiday Inn value and comfort come as standard with our 98 stylish and spacious air conditioned bedrooms all with complimentary internet access. Get the chance to discover our revolutionary Open Lobby concept, a place where you can eat, drink, meet and work; really wind down and have fun. It’s about being able to do what you want when you want.You’ll love our all day dining menu or just grab a Starbucks latte and breakfast to go or a midnight snack after a long day. With Wi-Fi available throughout the space you can stay connected.We also have three dedicated meeting rooms located on the 1st floor with services to ensure you have everything you need for a smooth meeting or social gathering. Take time out in the Mini Gym so you can keep up with your fitness programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.