We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntingdon Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Huntingdon Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingfisher Way | Hinchingbrooke Business Park, Huntingdon PE29 6FL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Christmas party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My firm booked here for their Christmas Party in the Brooke's restaurant. We were greeted by very friendly staff who could not do enough to make our stay welcome. Even though the hotel was very busy service at the bar was pretty quick. Expect to pay hotel prices at the bar (why do hotels charge so much more than pubs?). We were then shown to our table and had a pretty decent Christmas dinner considering there must been over 100 people in the room all wanting to eat at the same time. Dinning room staff were all really helpful and nothing seemed too much of a problem. Dancing started right after the coffee with a superb DJ who played a good mix to keep all of us entertained. We have already told the boss we want to come back next year!

Room Tip: Never stayed overnight but a friend did and he said that the room was nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    120
    46
    27
    12
See reviews for
57
69
21
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The hotel itself was clean, modern and comfortable. Sadly it was let down by two members of staff. The first was the young lady on reception who took my booking for a meal in the restaurant by phone the evening before we arrived. On arrival we were told the restaurant was closed and they didn't know about the booking. So we had to eat in the lounge bar. Fine except this was meant to be a night away with a lovely meal in a restaurant with table service. Instead I had to order every course and drink by queuing at the bar. At 815 the next morning we were woken by a woman banging on the door shouting 'housekeeping', I responded with a loud 'no thank you' but by then she was attempting to enter the room! Thank goodness we had put the chain on the door or she would have walked in on two semi naked people.I really don't understand why she would need to clean our room at 815 when we had been there one night and were leaving at 12. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Rooms very comfortable as would be expected of the Marriott chain, however it's out of the way and difficult to get to without a car. The restaurant leaves much to be desired. Uninspiring evening menu despite attempts to offer weekly specials. Great breakfast, but if staying for more than a few days I'd look elsewhere to eat in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I like the look and feel of Marriott Hotels and with Huntingdon Marriott I wasn’t disappointed. The Hotel from the outside looked good. The staff were nice and friendly. Marriott have a fantastic ability to eliminate sarcasm and arrogance from staff that other hotel chains don’t manage to achieve. Even the cleaners say a cheery hello and are approachable.

The hotel itself is very clean and tidy. Cups, glasses and litter are removed very quickly.

The facilities are very good. The swimming pool is fantastic and adequately sized. The car park is large enough so that you can park easily without obstruction and are very close to the hotel.

The evening meal itself was not very good. The food looked good but didn’t taste right. The menus also lacked any significant imagination. Which didn’t help matters?

As my wife and I opted for a package away day with meal included the ordering process was very complex. There was the set package menu or you could select from a la carte. Both options had different pricing structures and you had to select from your allowance or pay extra if you went over your allowance. Also if you wanted a bread roll you had a complimentary roll or you could chose to pay for one. Again adding to the confusion.

The dining staff did there upmost to ensure we made the right choices in very difficult circumstances.

Again breakfast had the same theme as dinner. It wasn’t tasty, lacked imagination and the choices were limited. Again the staff saved the day by making the breakfast better then what it should have been.

The hotel is next to a busy road and you can’t really walk anywhere. You need a car to get about. Huntingdon itself is ok but nothing special. however the independent retail sector is very busy with many shops unlike some towns and cities where local government have priced them out.

Overall I have scored this hotel highly due to the quality of staff. If the food can be improved then this would be a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I have spent a lot of time in this hotel over the past 2 years and have no complaints. Staff are helpful and friendly, the amenities are exactly as you'd expect of a business hotel. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Room service always on time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Travelled on business, found reception staff polite and efficient, room immaculate, large and well appointed with all normal amenities and very high standard hair dryer.

Large bar area with plenty of sofas and chairs, very attentive waiting staff, with good food.

The best breakfast I've seen, and without exception every member of staff was at the top of their game.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This was a really nice hotel just off the motorway and a perfect place to stay when visiting our daughter at uni in Cambridge. Close enough to see her, but also out of the city where the parking and traffic is just nuts! The reception staff were friendly and helpful in giving us directions of how to get into town, where to park and what eateries to look out for. The breakfast in the morning was all you could ever want or need!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the carpark, very quiet. The leasure facilities were really good and we li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huntingdon Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingdon Marriott Hotel

Address: Kingfisher Way | Hinchingbrooke Business Park, Huntingdon PE29 6FL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Huntingdon Marriott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a highly regarded 4-star hotel in Cambridgeshire, the Huntingdon Marriott Hotel meets guests' expectations for attentive service, supreme comfort and thoughtful amenities. Located on the outskirts of Huntingdon, it's close to major motorways, Cambridge, horse racing at Newmarket and Brampton, the Nene Valley Railway and Duxford Imperial War Museum. Built in 1998, the Huntingdon Marriott Hotel offers distinctive leisure and business travel accommodation. Our Cambridgeshire hotel features the new bed by Marriott, standard guest rooms at our hotel feature flat screen TVs, air conditioning, en-suite bathrooms and all the luxurious Marriott touches you are used to. Enjoy the luxury of a one-bedroom suite, featuring a four-poster bed, Jacuzzi bath and flat screen TV. Fine dining awaits in Brooke's Restaurant, an elegant setting to enjoy a la carte and table d'hote specialties. For events from weddings to business functions, a superior meeting and conference facility transforms to meet the most exacting needs. When looking for Huntingdon accommodation, you couldn't find a finer hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Huntingdon Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Huntingdon
Huntingdon Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntingdon Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;