We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montaz

Montaz
40 The Green | Brampton, Huntingdon PE28 4RH, England
01480 434514
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 89 restaurants in Huntingdon
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Description: Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine. This restaurant offers an exciting menu and introduces some nice fish dishes such as sea bass. Large screen showing bangra dancers gives a different feel. Tel 01480 434515/52792
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

First time using the restaurant after being loyal to a local competitor for many years. The order was taken quickly and efficiently and was ready for collection in very good time. The food was delicious but lacked a little in terms of spicey flavours however all in it was very good value for money and great service. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    9
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Found this place after staying at the new Holiday Inn in Huntingdon. Restaurant was quite quiet as it was a Tuesday evening, but the staff were welcoming and the food very good. They have a set meal which is excellent value. Would be happy to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Decidedly average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

First time here as we were staying at the spanking new Holiday Inn nearby at the racecourse. We went on Tuesday night, where they were offering a starter, main, side dish and rice or naan for £9.95 which is very good value for a sitdown restaurant.

Food was OK, but distinctly average, but for this sort of money you can't really complain. Beer was good however. Seemed a little quiet, but not in the best location as far as restaurants go.

I would revisit to give them a second try, but there was nothing to write home about other than good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Good takeaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thought we would give them a try as a take away service since we had a flyer posted through the door. We weren't disappointed. Food was hot, well cooked and flavoursome. Not the cheapest? However, they do a special in the restaurant on a tuesday night, so we will give that a try. Overall, good food (not exceptional), slightly on the expensive side but delivery was fast. For us, it was a matter of convenience and location, but I would use them again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food and prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Myself and my Girlfriend made a visit to Montaz in Brampton on a Tuesday night. The restaurant wasn;t too busy but didn;t expect it to be on a tuesday.

Service was good and food came quickly.

We had onion bahjees and butterfly prawn for started. the bahjees were good but was a little dissapointed by the butterfly prawn (although tasted nice...just didn't look great!). For mains we had a lamb celyon, chicken dansak, sag aloo. taka dahl, and shared a pilau rice and a naan. This was more than enough food for us but we pushed through all of it. Both the Ceylon and Dahnsak were milder than I have had in other restaurants, but very tasty and seemed fresh with good ingredients. The dahl was quite thick but tasty, and the sag alloo was good.

Price for the above with a couple of 'large' beers each was just under £40 which is very reasonable i my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montaz also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Montaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.