We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good clean away from being a really nice little hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Stukeleys Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Stukeleys Country Hotel to your Saves list
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
Church Road | Off Ermine Street, Great Stukeley, Huntingdon PE28 4AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good clean away from being a really nice little hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a really mixed review.

Normally I go to chain hotels and staying here made me realise just why I do. They deliver a level of consistency that these sort of places can't and ultimately there are few surprises.

So, I booked here last minute and didn't have many options as I needed a family room.

The initial impression was not good. When we arrived, the room was only made up for three, not four as requested, and there was a foul smell from a drain.

That said, when we spoke to the lady (I assume the owner) she could not have reacted better and gave us two double rooms instead (at the same price) which worked out better for us.

It has to be said that this is a very old property and therefore it is compromised. I found the room ok, if a little tired, but it is not as well insulated as modern buildings, so you hear noise from the traffic outside as well as the drains. It's not really loud, but it is there, so be warned. There are also not many electrical sockets and it is a little draughty, but not really a problem. The rooms were clean but the paint and grouting peeling away, making it look grubby.

Indeed, the detailing is what lets the hotel down. Electrical appliances show PAT testing dates which have passed and the breakfast, while fresh and very good, was served in a filthy room with dead insects lying all over the window sills.

Stuff like that is not good enough and lets down a hotel that has the potential to be really nice with a little bit of love and a little bit of money spent on it.

Room Tip: Room 6 has no wi-fi coverage and does suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
3
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Stukeleys Country Hotel as it was the only hotel with vacancies in the area. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and dinner in the attached pub was also fine. While the bedding and towels were clean, the rest of the hotel is in need of a deep clean and update in decor. It wouldn't take much to really improve the rooms - clean the carpets, replace bedspreads, give the bathrooms a really good scrub and change some damaged furniture and it would be a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back if you are a light sleeper and bring a sleep mask if light bothers you as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Frankly unmemorable meal, with coarse cuts of meat and indistinct vegetables, but admittedly better than the previous visit some years ago. The bar area has lots of atmosphere, but sadly not the restaurant area which is just a room at the back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Don't believe all of the bad reviews, I've visited the hotel many times and I've always had a pleasant stay. The food has always been delicious and if you ever need anything changing the staff are always more than happy to do so. I agree with the previous comment about feeling at home. The staff and regulars treat you like you're a friend and make you feel very welcome. I personally recommend their roast dinners on a Sunday if you ever do choose to stay. If there is anything I have ever had a problem with I just speak to the staff, they have always fixed any problem I have had. If I ever need a hotel I do always choose to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We were flooded out in November and stayed at the corporate hotels, boring unfriendly and impersonal, don't get me wrong this hotel has small problems, if you like early nights ask for a room at the back. If you like staying up in the bar have the best rooms in the hotel which are over the bar. Horses for courses. But if you are not happy let them know they will move earth and water to sort it out for you. This is a very friendly place and we felt like we were part of the family. I live in a building of similar age and can testify that building as old as this have problems however I do not reckoning isle any of the negative comments and I stayed there from the end of November till mid January and only left as my golden retriever was going mad and although they take small dogs he is to large for them and we have four. So all in all a great hotel, but don't expect corporate or unfriendly this is like going to an old friends house and being treated like a real friend. Food is great and the menu is good also, but I have to say one off Liam's full English are fantastic. Have a good stay but it's not corporate you won't pay corporate and you will be treated as a friend, if you want corporate go down the road and be ignored.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights and had 2 rooms. Beds looked like they were used as trampolines and needed pillows using to prop mattress up. The noise from bar was terrible and loud. The room curtains may have well not been there as they let all light through. Toilet door had screws sticking through that cut my arm. Toilet seat broken and split. Shower over bath was pathetic and bathroom filthy mouldy. Only plus was free tea and coffee as all food was over cooked or raw. Would rather stay in a shed than go again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

just got back from this hotel and i have rebooked to return in jan . hotel is clean and tidy and my room was massive and well heated ,the only problem i found in my room was rubbish in the draws from the previous guests..My partner and i ate in the hotel and the food was lovely the breakfast on the morning was lush and plenty of it 2 . You can hear sounds from the bar but not loud enough to keep you awake my suggestion would be to join the guests and ave a pint and a gossip with the locals . loads of hot water which is another good point . All staff were polite and give us a enjoyable stay thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stukeleys Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stukeleys Country Hotel

Address: Church Road | Off Ermine Street, Great Stukeley, Huntingdon PE28 4AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the charming village of Great Stukeley, only 5 minutes from the A1 and 30 from Cambridge, this former 16th Century Farmhouse offers home-made food, free Wi-Fi and parking. The Suffolk pink, ivy-covered building is a welcoming beacon on the road north from Huntingdon and attracts an eclectic mix of travellers and local residents. Infused with the warmth and character of its historic past, great care has been taken to preserve the original brickwork, solid oak beams and large fireplaces. With an abundance of attractions just a short distance away the Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Cambridgeshire. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has a character all of its own with many featuring exposed wooden beams, fireplaces and countryside views. Comfortable and well-appointed they all include free Wi-Fi access, HD flat-screen TV, telephone, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Both Double and Family room types are available and they can also accommodate well-behaved pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Stukeleys Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stukeleys Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.