We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caravanner's Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Jolly Butchers

Three Jolly Butchers
3 Huntingdon Road | Wyton, Huntingdon PE28 2AD, England
01480 463228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 98 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Caravanner's Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Houghton Mill Caravan site in the next village of Houghton just a 5 minute stroll to this delightful pub in Wyton. It came with a recommendation from the temporary warden so we decided to give it a try.....and boy were we glad we did. So much so that we went twice in the 5 nights we were on this site!
1st time I had the home made steak & guinness pie with homefry chips. The short crust pastry was absolutely spot on, soft and full of flavour and the meat was plentiful, as were the delicious chips. I said to my husband that this was the best pie I'd ever had in a pub. He had a starter of goats cheese tart then a chicken n bacon dish with local vegetables and chips which he said were all excellent. On our next visit, I had the Fish n Chips with minted peas and my other half tried the pie - on my recommendation. Once again everything was absolutely spot on. Being mid week, it was not overly busy so we didn't have to wait too long. With a bottle of house red and just the one starter, the bill was just under £40. Extremely good value we felt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    18
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“High standard of pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We visited the 3 Jolly Butchers for a leaving do, we were a substantial sized party and they managed us well with people all receiving their food fairly quickly.

The service was effective and friendly and the standard of food was to a reasonably high standard that was combined with an acceptable price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Go here regularly with friends and family.
food is lovely, all tastes homely and good variety.
Always have good meal.
service quick and friendly. Definately recommend. Lovely atmosphere and atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good pub lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

had the soup, which was excellent. the barman was very friendly and the service very good. lots of character in the décor.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Have been a few times and can honestly say every time we visit I hope that last time may have been a bad day, unfortunately not the case. We have recently booked for a Sunday lunch for dads birthday, it was packed which is fine, but they only had only 3 waitresses on, we waited an hour for our starter, the waitress didn't have time to serve our drinks properly, she brought us bottles to pour ourselves into dirty glasses and the pints she did pour most of it ended up on the table...she didn't come back with a cloth to clean up her mess. the food was chucked at us, spilling chips all over the table and my brother had to catch his burger before it ended up in his lap! Really disappointed, won't be giving them the benefit of he doubt again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Jolly Butchers also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Hemingford Abbots, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Three Jolly Butchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Jolly Butchers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.