We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunchtime menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Jolly Butchers

Three Jolly Butchers
3 Huntingdon Road | Wyton, Huntingdon PE28 2AD, England
01480 463228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 99 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Huntingdon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely lunchtime menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was taken out to lunch by a colleague. The menu was interesting and the food that turned up was tasty and obviously homemade. Would throughly recommend for lunch. Must try it out for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    15
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food... Didn't appreciate the clientele”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Despite the review that is to follow, I've always had a good experience at the three jolly butchers, however this was below par. To start with the positives; the food and service us always very good and excellent value. I had a slight issue with my dinner, as the pork belly wasn't edible, but it was immediately replaced and everything else was superb. The chips... Omfg. I think they're cooked in duck fat or something else naughty and delicious, but totally awesome.

We also had great wine and real ales, and had the dinners not been so huge, we probably would have had a dessert as well... They sounded lovely.

There's not a lot of choice for vegetarians and I had actually quite fancied something light and with salad, but the food we had was really good.

However, we had dinner on a rugby night. After having to use the bathroom twice, and having to walk through the bar and all the people who had far too much to drink, it really spoilt my night. I experienced blatant provoking and drunken abuse and although the management eventually picked up on it and were extremely apologetic, it certainly put a dampener on our evening... And was probably why we didn't stay longer for dessert.

Honestly, I'm a little tainted by the experience. I'll definitely go back... But will probably head to the three horseshoes before venturing there too soon.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“valentines meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we had a fantastic meal on evening 17.02.13.we had never been before so thought we'd try it after good reviews. would really recommend it.food portions are on large side.we had starter so couldn,t eat all main.never got to dessert.next time we,ll probably have starter and dessert.the waitresses were very friendly and very quick to offer drinks and to ask if everything was ok.well done to everyone there last night cooking and serving.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alconbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old building, but excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A party of 9 ate at this restaurant and found that the ambience, food and service were all excellent. The choices for starter, main course and desert was varied and well priced. Being situated on the banks of the River Ouse, on a fine day the garden is an added bonus!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've been here many times over the last year and have found the food to be of a consistently high quality, with the excellent fish and chips a highlight. The atmosphere is snug but modern and the beer garden is enormous, making it an excellent choice for a summer evening pint.

I'm quite surprised by the negative reviews here but can only say that they do not reflect my experience, which has been consistently better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Jolly Butchers also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Three Jolly Butchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Jolly Butchers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.