We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant

Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant
1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ, England
01480 424300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 99 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One word - Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Visited the restaurant on a week night. We didn't have a reservation but were seated straightaway. We went for all 3 courses and I have to say the service and food were excellent. We were very impressed, everything mouthful was delicious! And the most surprising bit was the bill which only came to £75 after all three courses, a glass of wine each and teas / coffees with our desserts. Loved it and highly recommend a visit if you are visiting Huntingdon like we were. I will definitely be back (fingers crossed!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review. The team really get a boost from such positive comments - it's very kind of you to take the time to offer them.
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    56
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wine tasting and Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great fun at wine tasting, however was a bit too crowded, lunch as ever very good indeed. Service slightly below usual standard, but still good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“faultless service and delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went for Sunday lunch and were very impressed. The menu was excellent and the portions very generous. Couldn't fault the service and was particularly impressed with the way they remembered from the lounge ( where we'd ordered) to the dining room who from our group had ordered what. Wines were superb and the whole experience represented very good value.The only downer was two young children who towards the end of the meal were allowed to run riot round other tables but in fairness most other diners had left and it was hardly the fault of the hotel! We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you draper
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Almost always excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have lived in Huntingdonshire for 35 years and have patronised the Old Bridge on special occasions, for business meetings and for just the odd coffee and sandwich throughout those decades. Sometimes we have been let down (twice on Sunday evenings, but also on other occasions) but overwhelmingly we have been treated like royalty. For at least 30 of those 35 years, the food, drink and service have not just been faultless - that would be too mechanistic - but exquisite. When things have not been right, they have usually - though not always - been put right with good grace. How many other catering establishments have such a sustained reputation? Over those decades John Hoskins has personally - and quite selflessly as a mentor - being single-handedly responsible for shifting the cuisine of the ancient county of Huntingdonshire from burger-joint to gastro-pub. Nearly every half-way decent chef in the district has worked for him at some time at the Old Bridge or one of the other Huntsbridge pubs. What's more, the Old Bridge is one of the few places in Huntingdonshire where you can get decent beef, cooked properly, at lunchtime on a Sunday - the Cock at Hemingford Grey is the other. As for the wine list, it is what you would expect from the only Master of Wine in the UK to own an hotel. The wines aren't cheap, but nor are the prices silly for what you get. The cheapest are eminently drinkable: pay a bit more and you might get something to die for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBWS, Owner at Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you Ian M. I think I can take all that as a compliment - and I assure you I will try to ensure that we always do show that element of 'good grace'.
John Hoskins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well deserved reputation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went to The Old Bridge for Sunday lunch & the only thing that detracted from the experience was the racket made by the other diners.....they were so LOUD! This aspect wasn't helped by the fact that the tables were close together and the ceiling quite low in the end section of the restaurant where we were and our co-diners were a noisy bunch. Having said this, the service was excellent, both in the bar and the restaurant and the food well above average with a superb wine list. We were so impressed with the wine we had (an organic Bergerac red) that we bought three bottles from the in house wine shop! Well done, Old Bridge. Keep it up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
 
Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 

Been to Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bridge Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.