We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family favorite- never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of sapori italiani

sapori italiani
the mall, Newry, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 82 restaurants in Newry
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family favorite- never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I was disheartened to read the negative reviews of this restaurant. Our family has been coming to the restaurant for over 5 years and we have never had a meal or customer service anything less than excellent.
You can taste the quality of the ingredients, of which the tomato bruscetta is a fine example of simple, tasty, authentic Italian cuisine which the named country is renowned for. My parents have been to Italy many times and toured the country off the beaten tourist track to sample the local food. This restaurant is on par with Italian food, in Italy.
Having visited 90% of the restaurants in the area; quality food, choice, atmosphere, staff, value and wine menu as a complete package are unrivalled.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    27
    12
    3
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ard mhacha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food & staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great food & staff, nice setting & very family friendly. Nice way to relax I find.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not how I remember it!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I live not to far away from newry and have only ever eaten in this restaurant once before ( about 6 years ago)and my memories of the food were excellent. So with my family I ventured to the doors again last Sunday at 4pm. Only to find them closed so I knocked the door and could see two staff having what looked to be lunch. They didn't seem to care that I was trying to get in as they looked up and just ignored me. The problem is the sign said open at 4 . I returned to my car and rang to be told they would open in ten minutes . I should have driven on but I decided to wait as the food was so good last time . Unfortunately not So this time . We ordered a pizza a salad gnocchi and some fried risotto ckes. The pizza was good but any self respecting Italian restaurant that cant get that right should not be open. The gnocchi was shop bought and covered in a thick under seasoned sauce with too much cheese £9 i think. The salad was poor at best cheese tomato( not fresh) and basil no dressing. The risotto ball were the dish that really enjoyed me 2 pieces a blob of mayo and dry salad £7.95 . This is restaurant robbery and the product was poor eating. Please will somebody open a medium prices well cooked Italian in newry and put sapori out of its misery.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pizzas bolgnese yummmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Service excellent,food fab.Had pizza was amazing,spaghetti bolgnese was yumm,would go back again defo.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant, service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Food and service are very very good! We are always made feel very welcome

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sapori italiani also viewed

 
Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to sapori italiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage sapori italiani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.