We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canal Court Hotel to your Saves list
Canal Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Newry
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visit the canal court regularly and the food is fantastic. Mary is so welcoming and the rest of the staff in the restaurant are extremely attentive. The Beef Stroganoff is the best I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    139
    38
    21
    19
See reviews for
128
148
19
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary for two nights .the room we we given was wonderful and he beds and pillows supremely comfortable. The only down side to this hotel is they had a lot of loud music thumping away , I think in the nightclub part, till after midnight, then drunken revellers noisily leaving. This was for one night, but still not good enough. The hotel staff are second to none, as is manager, Mr Whelen, who looked after us so well.the food was gorgeous and we had a fabulous time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that some aspects of your stay were less than satisfactory & in particular the noise aspects of your room. I appreciate your kind comments in relation to the food, bedrooms & staff within the hotel but am extremely sorry that our night staff were unable to ensure you had a peaceful and relaxing stay. I would be extremely grateful if you could contact me on johare@canalcourthotel.com as I would like to fully investigate how this occurred.

Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for one night with our 4 children (aged 9 to 2), following a family party, which was also held in the hotel. The event staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the party. Our bedroom had a great layout for the six of us, with plenty of space. Our 2 year olds loved the slide into the little pool. The breakfast was delicious and service good even though the restaurant was very busy. Would recommend for any event and a comfortable, good value break.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a brilliant layout for families-2 bedrooms but just the one entrance so little ones can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments and detailed review. We do aim to provide a relaxing & comfortable "home away from home" for guests and It is nice to learn you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Janet Bagnall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very convenient hotel right across from the bus station. Lots of seating area in reception and bar. Good leisure centre. Really good breakfast - hot food served to the table. Eat twice in the bar and thought it was very good. Very nice friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it to friends who are in that part of the country. We used it as a base to get to Belfast.

Room Tip: one room was on first floor and other room on 2nd - no noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetBagnall, Manager at Canal Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay & we appreciate very much your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and if I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime,

Kind Regards
Janet
johare@canalcourthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on the week commencing 9th September. The hotel is reasonably clean and the staff are very friendly. The pool/jacuzzi/sauna are clean and accessible. The restaurant is of a great quality although very expensive! We did have a problem with the Wifi in the room. Signal was very poor and out of 2 phones, 2 laptops and an iPad we could only get poor signal on one of the laptops. We asked at reception several times for someone to look at it. On the 4th occasion someone visited the room with a phone to verify our tale and gave a purposefully distracting conversation conflating bandwidth with signal range amounting to "there's so much steel in the room it's hard to get a signal" we felt this is a big problem that the hotel should address when clearly offering free wifi in all rooms. Other than that this is a good hotel, and recommended for Newry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I've stayed a few times in the Canal Court now and every time it's a pleasure. It's a modern hotel but designed with an old style to it. The bar has a lovely traditional feel to it, the restaurant always feels busy and bustly with great food served well and the reception areas are all roomy and comfortable. Bedrooms are all a good size and nicely decorated. Breakfast is served to your table with a continental buffet - always nice to get the personal touch rather than buffet. The car park can get a bit full but that's a reflection on its popularity. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've used the Canal Court before, for a business meeting and was profoundly unimpressed - it really wasn't very nice at all, the bar food represented poor value and the whole experience was bad. All that I said in my previous review still stands.

In fairness I found dining in their restaurant a much better experience, the food was nice, the serving staff were at least trying to be pleasant - we are talking about Newry after all - and the surroundings were clean. We ate from the a la carte menu and it seemed very expensive for what we got, mind you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canal Court Hotel is a 110 bedroom hotel in the heart of Newry City. This fine 4 star property has a selection of standard & deluxe bedrooms, executive, ambassador & superior suites. All rooms are beautifully furnished and deluxe bedrooms & suites are all fully air-conditioning. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available & all guests have full use of the extensive health & leisure complex and new Rooftop Hot Tub. CC Spa has recently opened & offers a delightful range of treatments & opportunities for pampering using Germaine de Cappucini Products. The Granary Bar & Cocktail Bar are a lively place to spend your evening with Traditional Irish & Folk Music every Friday & Sunday evening, Charity Pub Quiz every Thursday evening & Music Bar with Resident Dj every Saturday. The Millers Suite offers a prefect opportunity for a spot of dancing & partying to some big bands including The Chevy's, The Housem8's, The Professionals, Sugartown Road & Many More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.