We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canal Court Hotel to your Saves list
Canal Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Navan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed Sat night last as part of Hen Party, 18#. Had no problems with hotel whatsoever, always were accommodating from my initial enquiry with booking of rooms, with all the changes, our nos and room types etc. Very busy weekend but we were looked after no problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review & I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We do try to cater for all guests needs and have developed a number of packages to suit those wishing to enjoy a funfilled Hen Weekend. Our new Spa & Roof Top Hot Tub provides the opportunity for a relaxing girly break and our other packages including Cocktail Training or Dancing lessons etc offer a more fun filled & activity based experience. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our new Spa & also our Cocktail Bar, as well as the Live Bands in our Millers Suite.
I do hope that you have the chance to return in the future & If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on dferguson@canalcourthotel.com.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    154
    42
    25
    23
See reviews for
136
168
19
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel itself nice , rude refuse to actually listen .... Went for a 1 night stay to celebrate my tenth wedding anniversary , at 150 a night 1 night was enough , my mother highly recommended this hotel, on looks itself ( great ) we both used spa and it was outstanding , then the meal yuck , both got the same starter and my wife found long hair when nearly finished , disgusting , got a sorry and a free drink which we both said we didn't want ( but was told by staff it's free get it in ya ) my wife's dinner ( microwave dinner ) was cold , my steak was meant to be well done but was rare , plate filled up with blood , didn't eat that or the raw chips , wife wouldn't let me complain , dessert was lovely , then comes half 2 in the morning when the projectile vomiting started and hi hoes , rand reception at half 3 and asked for juice and told them and RUDE woman came up , wanted me to go see out of hours doc , I said ok then she wanted me to go to the hospital , with nothin left in me to be sick I thought 150 pounds for a night in hospital , no , so then I was made to feel like I was putting it on , DON'T THINK SO ........ AND QUITE FRANKLY AFTER A HOUR OF BEIND DOUBLED IN 2 IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT NOT GOING to ARGUE OVER HOW LONG IT TAKES FOR FOOD POISON TO KICK IN BUT FOR FUTURE OF THIS HOTEL FOOD POSION CAN KICK IN THE SECOND FOOD IS DIGESTED NOT 48 HRS LATER LIKE I WAS TOLD TIME AND TIME AGAIN BY THE WOMAN THAT HAD JUST DONE FOOD HIGENE COURSE , ( obviously DIDNT LISTEN TO MUCH ) Was too scared to eat breakfast but the wife loved it .... My mother was ashamed to hear that my romantic night away was a disaster and phoned hotel
SHE WAS TOLD TO EXPECT A CALL FROM THE MANAGER WITHIN THE NEXT 24 HRS , FOUR DAYS LATER AND NOTHIN,
BUT DIDN'T EXPECT TO HEAR FROM THEM
THE SAYIN ( GET THE MONEY AND GET THEM OUT SPRINGS TO MIND )
Been treated better in a hostel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Mr Shaw
I am disappointed to read your review and I do feel that it is an unfair reflection of your stay at the Hotel. I am sorry that you feel the need to post such a review which clearly is aimed at insulting the Manager who dealt with you and the Meal which was prepared fresh for you. In respect of not having been responded to I can confirm that both the Duty Manager on Friday evening went directly to your room when she was advised you were feeling unwell. She offered to take you to hospital in case you had any other condition, as it was a very short time from your meal & having looked at the dishes you had selected & being aware of the very high standards of food hygiene followed within our kitchens it would have appeared that food poisioning may not have been the cause of your illness. She again spoke with your mother when she called suggesting you had not been looked after and explained as well as apologising. Also I myself wrote to you by letter & later received an email accusing the hotel of having "ignored" you to which I also responded immediately. We welcome all customer feedback & appreciate that negative feedback can help us to improve our standards & facilities to better meet our guest expectations however I do feel that your review is extremely unfair.
I can assure you that we have tried by all means possible to contact you & resolve any issues that you may have however you have not replied to my email or letter and chosen instead to write this derogatory review. Should you at some point decide to contact me you can contact me by email dferguson@canalcourthotel.com or telephone on 02830251234.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I don't normally write reviews but i had to with this hotel. The over all experience was brilliant. We had had a meal and the food was excellent and the staff were so helpful. There was a wedding in the hotel but the staff treated everyone the same. we were on the third floor and heard nothing of the wedding :-) we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a 3 day Supervalue Break,very good quality hotel with lovely large rooms.Breakfasts are superb and good entertainment at the weekend.
Only downside I had was getting wrong change at bar ,gave twenty got change of a tenner when I asked was told I had been given the right change,luckily I hadn't a second fiver in my wallet so he gave me the difference but reluctantly,hopefully he was genuine and this was a real mistake on his part.Otherwise had a brilliant weekend and akl staff really friendly especially reception,will go back

Room Tip: Ask for the air-conditioned ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I wasn’t disappointed. The Hotel is very plush and the room is massive. All the staff are a total credit to the Hotel and everyone I met was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also faultless so I think they have listened to other feedback that say it wasn’t very good. This is not a family hotel one more for Business or a romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Canal Court is Newry's Premier Hotel- converted from warehouses. This is one of my husband's favourite eateries. The bar area is large with lots of nooks and crannies so you can have a large family gathering or an intimate meal. There are TVs sited in various areas so that the patrons don't miss the latest sports feature but you can sit where they don't intrude. It seems to be busy most of the time and is very popular with locals.

The food is good bar food- nothing very special and prices are average- if a little high for bar food. However we were waiting for friends and feeling very hungry, ordered the Nachos Chilli beef starter. When it arrived it was delicious, liberally coated with melted cheese and more that enough for 4!

For mains I had Hot Chicken and Bacon Salad- acceptable but afterwards I realised that I had not noticed the bacon? Maybe it was there but must have been minimal. My companions enjoyed the Steak baguette with fries- pricey at £12.50 but the fries were delicious and Fresh Salmon with Champ- delicious and a large portion.

There was a fair choice of desserts but my Meringue was not a patch on the one I had enjoyed at the Lord Edward in Dublin- it was OK.

On reading the menu I discovered that sandwiches , available through out the day, started £3.50-considering the venue this is excellent value. It would cost as much in a take a way.

The staff have been excellent at every visit we have made, helpful, knowledgeable re the menu, accomodating when a diner wanted something omitted or added to their order and indeed very helpful. Once, when eating with children they offered a smaller portion of the meal that the child wanted, offering to bring more if they required it.

My one real complaint was my drink- as designated driver I was drinking Lime and Soda and a SMALL drink ( filling a small wine glass) cost me £1.85. That is a rip off. I normally pay about £1 for a tumbler full!

Sort that out and I will be back, otherwise if my husband demands a meal there I will stick to tap water for free!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

the canal court hotel in newry is a really fab place to stay...now i have only stayed with my hubbie and never as a family...staff have always been helpful and pleasant.....food is lovely...bar is busy and lots to see...rooms are lovely and comfy...bathrooms are ok......overall a super stay and over to the mourne country hotel for a wee dance country and western style on a sat nite....u wont be disappointed with ur stay....enjoy and close to shops cinema restaurants etc...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canal Court Hotel is a 110 bedroom hotel in the heart of Newry City. This fine 4 star property has a selection of standard & deluxe bedrooms, executive, ambassador & superior suites. All rooms are beautifully furnished and deluxe bedrooms & suites are all fully air-conditioning. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available & all guests have full use of the extensive health & leisure complex and new Rooftop Hot Tub. CC Spa has recently opened & offers a delightful range of treatments & opportunities for pampering using Germaine de Cappucini Products. The Granary Bar & Cocktail Bar are a lively place to spend your evening with Traditional Irish & Folk Music every Friday & Sunday evening, Charity Pub Quiz every Thursday evening & Music Bar with Resident Dj every Saturday. The Millers Suite offers a prefect opportunity for a spot of dancing & partying to some big bands including The Chevy's, The Housem8's, The Professionals, Sugartown Road & Many More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Canal Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.