We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamonds Restaurant

Diamonds Restaurant
The square | Warrenpoint, Newry, Northern Ireland
028-4175-2053
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 93 Restaurants in Newry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Family owned, in business for number of years. Bookings required at some weekends. Very good food, reasonabley priced.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would regualrly dine in 'Diamond's' restaurant as it provides the tastiest food at the keenest prices! The menu is vast and ranges from Chicken Marylands, to Pizza, to healthy baked poatoes and salad options etc. The staff are so welcoming and attentive and it is full of locals which is testament to its popularity with both regular customers and tourists alike. After dinner when I've ordered tea or coffee they provide a complimentary plate of small shortbread and cakes which is a lovely treat! I will continue to frequent Diamonds as it never fails to dissappoint.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Always use the diamonds restaurant if we are in warrenpoint. Rose and the staff are very friendly and always try and get you a table quickly. The food is well priced and the menu has a good range. Can't fault the food. One of our favourite restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

food was lovely staff were very friendly was a bit of a wait on a table but makes up for it when you get in

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Took a friend here one day with the kids and was very dissappointed, we had to wait a long time for the food and it wasnt even busy I ordered Fish n chips at £10 their was hardly any chips and the fish was really small and not very taste. The seats where all ripped where I was sitting and the whole place didnt look very clean. My kids used to love going here but we will not be back as its very bad value for money!!! Dissapointing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
2 reviews
“Terrible - Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

correct me if am wrong , but what i got was a over priced breakfast ...... bacon is bacon .. the sausages had been sitting on a hot plate , ( prepared ) and had crusted at the ends after the insides had spilled out ( they were cheap sausages of no quality...probably from a BASICS range ) .... the small thin piece of steak half the size of my hand was tough and wafer thin , turn it sideways and you would have missed it

everything else was deep-fat fried

the burger costing £6 ... came only as a burger in a bun ( or BAP as it is called ) with small leafy garnish and a small pot of coleslaw ... NO chips

i tasted the burger , the burger tasted like the ones you get in iceland 4 QTR pounders for £2 ( in a pack ) ....probably contained sheeps eyes and intestines

i kid you not this was a frozen economy burger , the ones bought mistakenly ...as a freezer stocking filler .....after being seduced by the picture on the packaging

staff were helpful and very pleasant

it was packed ( busy ) , my mother being 68 was almost the youngest person in there

this place should be avoided at all costs

i would rather eat , left over pavement Kebab ..from Saturday nights and lose £30-40 down the back of the sofa

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamonds Restaurant also viewed

Newry, County Down
Newry, County Down
 

Been to Diamonds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamonds Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.